Thread: PHP or JSP

PHP or JSP

Hi

We are about to develop a web-based application that will be part of our ERP project.

Our ERP is developed using Powerbuilder and Oracle RDBMS server.

I downloaded the Apache 1.3 web server and the necessary PHP modules and I manage to install the web server without problems.

I downloaded the trial edition of CodeCharge and I manage to create my first php page that queries our database without writing any php code.

All this took me about half day!!!

I have some experience in Java (I developed applications before 3 years using JDK 1.1) and I was wondering if developing with JSP is “quicker” than PHP.

So I tried to “use” my past experience and use this tool with JSP. I downloaded the latest tomcat server and then I tried to create the same application I did with php.

It took me about 1 and a half day to learn how configure the tomcat server, download all the extra required libraries and make that application to work.

I discovered that JSP and Servlets are very extensible, providing a well designed model in order to solve our problems easyer…

However... Now I feel... too much about nothing!(at least for then things I want to create...)

I liked Java. I feel that, somehow, I will have more power with it but… now I am afraid of it!

What I would like from you is to share with me, any experiences like this and give me your advice...

PHP development is faster if you know the language. If you know Java well, I bet that you can learn PHP in less than a week, just by reading the online manual (I did that and learned PHP in an afternoon).

Once you learn the (simple) PHP syntax, it's a matter of using the right functions to implement virtually any web application you can think of.

Off course, your SQL server will handle the hard work of efficiently maintaining your raw data. So you don't need any advanced language to query the SQL server, format the results in HTML and print them. That is what PHP applications typically do.