im new to hosting.

i have the hardware, bandwith and software. now what???

i wanted to know what legal issues i have to worry about if i want to start a webhosting business.

do i still have to pay tax ? where can i find that out.

i am located in florida and i have a couple of clients that need webhosting for there companys. I wanted to provide them with service other than my consulting. I work for my self i have no corporation.

would i have to start one?

Re: im new to hosting.

Originally posted by networkfreek
    i have the hardware, bandwith and software. now what???

i wanted to know what legal issues i have to worry about if i want to start a webhosting business.

do i still have to pay tax ? where can i find that out.

i am located in florida and i have a couple of clients that need webhosting for there companys. I wanted to provide them with service other than my consulting. I work for my self i have no corporation.

would i have to start one?
    Hardware, bandwidth and software are nothing. It's SUPPORT & ADMIN based work that counts. If you don't know how to admin the server, or support (the tech side) your customers right, you'll lose.

Yes you still have to pay tax, what kind of a stupid question is that? With any biz you have to pay tax. Now, I'm not sure if you have to CHARGE taxes, up here they say you have to make more then $30,000 year to collect tax for sam. So, until that point, no operation has to, however, when you do retail, most go ahead and charge it anyway.

thanks.

yea i heard something about those 30,000 thats why i was asking.

and as far as support i used to work for a hosting company .. under technical support.

Re: thanks.

Originally posted by networkfreek
    yea i heard something about those 30,000 thats why i was asking.

and as far as support i used to work for a hosting company .. under technical support.
    What about the admin side?? Do you know enough to manage your own server??