Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508

    Can I sign up with multiple resellers?

    What happens if I sign up with multiple resellers?
    What will my nameservers be?
    Is it OK to conduct a web hosting business, through multiple resellers?

    Thanks
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta. Georgia
    Posts
    252
    I don't see why not, but it would make things a little challenging. If you wanted to use the same nameservers for all of your resold accounts, you would need to find at least one reseller to base your nameservers whose control panel let you directly add DNS entries.

    You would have to add on your own an A, MX, etc DNS records to point to the correct host for each resold domain.

    Make any sense?
    Peachtree WebWorks, LLC
    http://www.peachtreewebworks.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Yeah, that's fine. I don't need to use the same nameservers. As long as I can get something like ns1.mydomain.com-ns10.mydomain and so on ..
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  4. #4
    You will need to have nameservers for each reseller you are with. Becuase you can't sync the zone files between the resellers.
    Jay

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Originally posted by jayglate
    You will need to have nameservers for each reseller you are with. Becuase you can't sync the zone files between the resellers.
    Any downside to this?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  6. #6
    Not really. Just can't easily move accounts between resellers.


    Jason
    Jay

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Yeah, hopefully, I won't need to move any accounts. What I want to do is use multiple resellers. I won't be leaving any of the resellers, just adding more.
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    Originally posted by mantra
    Yeah, hopefully, I won't need to move any accounts. What I want to do is use multiple resellers. I won't be leaving any of the resellers, just adding more.
    Yep, just have new nameservers for each account. It's like running multiple servers, but you're leasing part of each server etc....
    AussieHost.com Aussie Bob, host since 2001
    Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    cool, thanks
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,508
    Is there a limit on number of nameservers I can have point to one domain?
    -= PREMIUM DOMAIN NAMES @ DOMAINPEP.COM

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta. Georgia
    Posts
    252
    Not that I'm aware of. All the file on the nameserver does is say domain.com is 10.11.22.33 . You could put that same entry on as many nameservers as you wanted to I guess.
    Peachtree WebWorks, LLC
    http://www.peachtreewebworks.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Istanbul / Turkey
    Posts
    214
    Yeah I really think that. When I calculate the extra disk scape and extra bandwidth it cost much much more than an account package. Is that really possible?

    When I signed up 2 reseller account can I use ns1.mydomain.com ns2.mydomain.com for first account and ns3.mydomain.com ns4.mydomain.com for second account?

    Is there any important where your domain is located? first account or second? And is there any limit for that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •