Suggestions needed for a dedicated server

Hi

I'm looking for a dedicated server to host a blog (1500-2000 uniques daily) and an eticket/live chat support service. I have no experience with servers so I'd need a fully managed server with very good support.

My budget is a maximum of $200 a month, ideally around $150.

After looking at and ignoring the top 10 lists, reading here, posting a similar thread and talking to a few people, I'm conisidering

-hostgator
    -glowhost
    -mxhub

(gigenet was on the list but I'm still waiting for their email)

I'd really appreciate feedback on these three or recommendations for a dedicated server.

Most of these providers seem right on the edge of your budget with not-so-great hardware. If you check the offers section, you will be sure to find a similar if not better configuration well within your budget.

Do you have an estimate on the amount of bandwidth you need?

There are indeed, as the above poster already posted, 100s of companies that have a thread in the offers section, with much better hardware for less (managed).

I checked the 3 you listed, and they will give you hardware from years ago... Nowadays budget processors will be able to do a lot more tasks & do them better than those.

I agree with the above posters but would suggest a VPS rather than a dedicated server. It will be cheaper and with a good host it should be easier to scale quickly if you need more resources.

But be careful, don't be fooled by VPS hosts who sell Virtuozzo. Only look for VM Ware or Xen. Otherwise it is para-virtualization and you might as well buy shared hosting for even cheaper.
    www.HNKTools.com - dns info and tests
    www.EmptyBeanie.com - glorious moments of human failure