Results 1 to 37 of 37
  1. #1

    How many visits is my server good for please

    Hi I have this curent configuration
    AMD XP 1600+ CPU
    1gig Memory
    40GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
    600 Gigs of transfer per month
    100Mbit Fully Burstable switch
    I hit this server with 160k visits/day and it went to a full 85-100%load all day it pulled about 40gigs through the pipe.
    I thought a server with those specs would do that on its head
    What can i do to give this server more grunt?
    Would more ram help?
    Maybe this server cannot handle those traffic loads?
    Any advice please would be greatly apreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Downunder..
    Posts
    2,612
    10 visits per month.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705
    What kind of content? Are you making 2384092380 queries on each page load?

  4. #4
    edude
    thanks for your help just gotta love this forum
    Acronym BOY
    content is adult

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    190
    Your complaining cuz your server can't handle 160k users a day?

    That comes out to like 100 users a minute now if every use stays 5 minutes thats 500~ on at a time but thats not how it really works as there will be peak times were it might be 1000 or might be 100 thats alot of users at once... if you have like a heavy php site thats going to kill your cpu what you need to do it some load balancing a simple dns pool would probably be enough if you have 2 servers...
    C Code. C code run. Run, code, run...
    Segmentation fault (core dumped).. aww sh!t

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    registered, I have a similar server and am experiencing the same problem.

  7. #7
    Woodshed we are traveling down the same path
    I thought i would be good for 500k visits
    maybe more ram
    maybe just acpet the fact that is as good as it gets

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    Is your content mainly html, or movies, or pictures?

    If pictures are the sizes fairly small? ie 30-50kb?

    Do you run any php or cgi scripts?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    209
    more ram will help

    try upgrade to 3 GB RAM

  10. #10
    I dont run any scripts
    My pics are about 80k and the thumbs about 8k
    Thanks for your help
    Would a machine like that handle 3 gigs ram
    I dont know anything about dedicated servers I am just a webmaster.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    1,074
    you should be looking for FAR more a powerful server than that.

    seems you're trying to nickle and dime your way through your business plan. with that many visits you should be investigating servers with dual CPU, 2+gb RAM, SCSI harddriveS, etc. instead of trying to upgrade your current box.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    453
    well you could get by using a very mimimal httpd like tux. (err. i think thats the name)

    its used by some image and banner hosting companies as the serving mechanism for graphics.

    since you said you only have static content, it could handle it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    What do define as a visit? Is it a single a user loading up a page of content, e.g. images? Or, every file read? Because, I don't think that server would be able to do 500k hits, which are file reads.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705
    Originally posted by registered
    edude
    thanks for your help just gotta love this forum
    Acronym BOY
    content is adult
    I wasnt really asking was it adult or not or anything (although porn seems to be the sonly thing on the net that does sell). Basic html wont have as much overhead as databases queries and stuff like that will. Static vs dynamic and all that.

    Anyhow.... you might need a bigger package. When you browse the site during peek, do you see any lag? If not, its probably running just under the breaking point. Not only that but at 40GB a day, thats 1200GB a month, it seems you are going to get more bandwidth and probably a faster computer (SCSI would help as would RAM) very soon.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    453
    even if each and every hit was 100kilobytes of data...

    100k*500,000hits = 50,000,000kb = 50gb

    he said he pushed about 40gb in a day..

    i'll take my rough estimate and mulitply that by 30 days..

    1500GB per month = ~ 5 mps

    I had a colo customer some time back. He had one of his shared site's posted on some adult toplist site. We saw the stats : he was easily pushing 15-20 mbps , and this was when the fastest machine you could buy was a p2 450 with 4*128 ram. Of course he did have seagate barracudas.

    My point is, just because the server isn't top of the line now doesn't necessarily mean that it wont perform. A scsi drive and some customized httpd software could make it last for a long time

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    I still believe the bottleneck is with Apache. Apache will start to slow down drastically once it is serving around 125 concurrent connection. Please read this benchmark, pay attention to the last graph.

    I have evidence to back this up. I hosted quite a big VB forum on my server with around 800000 average hits per day and 120000 average page views daily. Server load jumped quite a bit when concurrent users on the forum jump from around 300 to 350, but the server load jumped only a little bit when there were only 100-200 concurent users.

    Anyway, if your site is not serving a lot of php, you may consider thttp as your web server alternative.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    453
    a bulletin board is much more complex than a porn site.
    each page has multiple images that come up, in addition to that there are on an average 5-10 database calls.

    this site has only static content, Apache woudn't be needed, or could be used for the text serving, while the images could be hotlinked from a secondary lightwight http daemon.

  18. #18
    when i was under the most stress
    server load was .90 up to 1.1
    Netmachanic said poor as it was taking about 5 sec to download a 10k file
    When i ran link checker on a page http://www.webmastermatrix.com/linkc...inkChecker.cgi
    it was taking 17 seconds to open
    When i sit on 60k visits it is ok
    what is a http daemon. please and where do I find one

    Thank you all for your time
    Just amazed i couldnt serve static pages with 1 gig ram

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    453
    Originally posted by registered
    what is a http daemon. please and where do I find one

    Just amazed i couldnt serve static pages with 1 gig ram

    hyper text transfer protocol daemon - httpd : web server

    Apache is a heavy server, while there are others that are smaller and are optimized for static file serving.

  20. #20
    "I have evidence to back this up. I hosted quite a big VB forum on my server with around 800000 average hits per day and 120000 average page views daily. Server load jumped quite a bit when concurrent users on the forum jump from around 300 to 350, but the server load jumped only a little bit when there were only 100-200 concurent users.
    "
    Server was trying to load 7500/hr
    Thanks FHDave that page explains it all
    Last edited by registered; 08-27-2002 at 11:01 AM.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    Originally posted by registered
    when i was under the most stress
    server load was .90 up to 1.1
    That's not high load. That only means that one process was waiting to run.

  22. #22
    server has gone down
    Guess it kinda answered my question

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    Hey registered, mine is down too. Its either a cogent problem or a problem at the datacenter (eXcanagecolo) I traced several servers that I know are in that facility and they were all down.

    I'm keeping all downtime like this timed; maybe i can get a refund if downtime exceeds the gauranteed maximum.

    If you have thousands of thumbs you could save alot of bandwidth by making them smaller. I use 150x150 thumbs (maximum) and they are around 3-4 kb. It depends on what you use to make them, I guess.

  24. #24
    thanks Woodshed
    I thought there was tier 1 backup
    I like the thumbs 160 and about 7-8k
    This has been to much on the server thou
    It has been giving me top listing
    Might drop the images back from 100k to about 60k

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    I thought there was backup as well. I'll see if I can find anything out about that.

    i guess for now do whatever you can to keep your server from overload.

    If you have the money, mirroring your site over a few servers and load balancing could work well.

  26. #26
    Woodshed
    I pondered the back up on this thread
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showth...threadid=63317
    To use something as your sales pitch and not have it is just a little strange
    When you spend a month building links to the top sites if a link go dead for a while they drop your link
    Bingo 1 month down the drain
    Yeah I will get a second server and load balance

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    I know what you mean about topsites. I hate them for that reason. most of the traffic you get from them sucks too.

    Thats kinda off topic though. feel free to PM me if you want to exchange links or get some good ideas

    As for the downtime problem... I'm sure there will be an official announcement about it soon enough
    Last edited by WoodShedd; 08-28-2002 at 02:49 AM.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,262

    Re: How many visits is my server good for please

    Originally posted by registered
    Hi I have this curent configuration
    AMD XP 1600+ CPU
    1gig Memory
    40GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
    600 Gigs of transfer per month
    100Mbit Fully Burstable switch
    I hit this server with 160k visits/day and it went to a full 85-100%load all day it pulled about 40gigs through the pipe.
    I thought a server with those specs would do that on its head
    What can i do to give this server more grunt?
    Would more ram help?
    Maybe this server cannot handle those traffic loads?
    Any advice please would be greatly apreciated.
    haha your going to push 2x your monthly bandwidth ammount be ready for a big bill @ 600 gigs depends on what your provider charges per gig but probably 1.50-4 bucks on average heh

  29. #29
    zdwebhosting
    $45 mbit=320gigs=15c a gig
    yeah hahahahaha all the way to the bank

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    520
    Turn logging completely off, that should help a lot

    Of course, you have no logfiles anymore then ...

  31. #31
    hey thanks for that thats a good idea
    I wonder if i could moniter my log files still back here on earth using some 3rd party system?
    Webalizer stats were frozen on me last time i was up
    Might be them causing me some hastle

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    520
    webalizer cannot run a report with no logfiles. You could use a embedded 3rd party counter such as s*xtracker, paycounter, or the new cyberage counter, that will put the load on their server.

  33. #33
    Originally posted by edude
    If your new to these forums you *MUST* read this thread:
    How about learning to spell first? YOU'RE

  34. #34
    Thanks Erich YOU advice has been great
    will try that and reduce server load
    Only problem is I will only have a rough idea of data transfer

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    892
    log files only provide a rough idea of data transfer as well. You could try to install MRTG to get a good idea of the bandwidth you are using

  36. #36
    Also make sure apache is configured so that for your logging you have DNS lookup disabled, so that apache is not doing a DNS lookup every time it writes to the logs to resolve the client IP to a domain name.

  37. #37
    Host was second rate time to move on
    after a month of asking today i am told

    today after 1 month of asking I am told
    You need to have ns9.edge-host.com, and ns10.edge-host.com nameservers registered with your domain registrar. To do that you must provide them with the namesevers you want, and 2 IPís that point to your server.

    NS9.EDGE-HOST.com -> ip here
    NS10.EDGE-HOST.com -> ip2here

    Please also remember that we provide this as a courtesy. If it is not working you are responsible for setting up your own nameservers.
    This is after being told I would be set up with my own name-servers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •