Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: need help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Wirral/Cheshire/Meresyside
    Posts
    203

    need help

    i got a script i want to give to some 1 but i want the script to have my link and mini banner in it, so i want some help on making a bit to look for it and if it carnt find it it will display a message
    http://www.gocre8.co.uk - Liverpool Web Design
    http://www.outallnite.co.uk - Liverpool Clubbing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    679
    You mean won't run if the banner is not displayed? Or you want to have a script on YOUR server that checks to see if the banner is there or not?
    Ahmad Alhashemi
    PHP, Apache, C, Python, Perl, SQL
    18 related BrainBench certificates

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Wirral/Cheshire/Meresyside
    Posts
    203
    it wont run if the banner isnt displayed
    http://www.gocre8.co.uk - Liverpool Web Design
    http://www.outallnite.co.uk - Liverpool Clubbing

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    679
    There is now way to do that. If they can remove the banner, they can remove the code that checks for the existance of the banner.
    Ahmad Alhashemi
    PHP, Apache, C, Python, Perl, SQL
    18 related BrainBench certificates

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857
    You would have to encode the script so they couldn't take the code out... But if you are going to encode the script then you really don't need to check and see if it is showing the banner. Rather just program the script to show it. Then when it is encoded they can't not show the banner...

    Regards,
    Michael
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Wirral/Cheshire/Meresyside
    Posts
    203
    i want to put the bit that stops them in a remote file if thats possible if not ill hide it in with some code and when they look over it they wotn know what it is they dont know php you see
    http://www.gocre8.co.uk - Liverpool Web Design
    http://www.outallnite.co.uk - Liverpool Clubbing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    857
    well if they don't know php you can hide it. Or put the file containing that function on your site and do this:

    require("http://yoursite.com/filename.txt");

    remember to make it a .txt so that your server returns the code and not the codes output...

    Also note that if your site is ever down for some reason it will cause their site to fail...

    Since you are coding their site just put your banner where you want it... If you are afraid they will find it then put the code to display the banner in a function also stored on your site and call that function. Also make the function set a global variable to a specified number to check for later so that you can check to see if they deleted the function call. If so the site fails...

    Again if they decide to up and learn PHP one day they can change all of that.

    Regards,
    Michael
    <?
    header("Location: http://www.hostevolve.com/");
    ?>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Wirral/Cheshire/Meresyside
    Posts
    203
    i should of thought of that b4
    http://www.gocre8.co.uk - Liverpool Web Design
    http://www.outallnite.co.uk - Liverpool Clubbing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •