Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    RedHat Linux 7.3

    Hello,

    Does anyone know if RH Linux 7.3 has a problem or it is just my download of RH Linux 7.3?

    Like several comannd lines (linuxconf, userconf, and etc) are missing. Sometime, some installation doesn't have loopback and eth0 at bootup.

    I wonder if RH Linux 7.2 is safer to use than RH Linux 7.3.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    424
    I have RedHat 7.3 on a test machine and its working fine. It might just be your copy of it. I downloaded mine also. Before you install it, be sure to do a: linux mediacheck on your installation discs. May be something wrong with the md5sum.

    If all else fails redownload the iso's (try the government sites much better).

  3. #3
    How do you do that check if you have Windows2000?

    Start > Run

    What do you type in the text area?
    Do you need to download anything to use that test program?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    424
    On the machine you are installing linux when it comes to the install menu where you can type stuff in.

    You would type linux mediacheck. You can't do it in Windows I dont think.

  5. #5
    Thanks.

    Let me try.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,378
    mine is also missing a boat load of commands to. i probably should update the kernal in it.

    edit it: and i downloaded mine from a govt site too

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    2,978
    You might want to read the release notes:

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ase-notes/x86/

    Pay attention to the section "Package Reorganization".
    -Mark Adams
    www.bitserve.com - Secure Michigan web hosting for your business.
    Only host still offering a full money back uptime guarantee and prorated refunds.
    Offering advanced server management and security incident response!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Auckland - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,572
    Redhat 7.3 is fine - some things have changed a little as Bitserve says, but I have had no problems installing 7.3 - Installing CPanel has given more problems than the OS :-)

  9. #9
    Installed redhat 7.3 yesterday, there seems to be no adduser/useradd command..

    I done a package install and customized.

    hmm... there is a adduser command right?
    Western Man

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Auckland - New Zealand
    Posts
    1,572
    hmm... there is a adduser command right?
    Yes there is

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •