Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: low spec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963

    low spec

    Hi,

    i was wondering, now a days everyone is jumping to offer 1.3ghz, 1,2ghz, 1.6ghz, 2ghz, dual 1.4ghz, etc...

    But are there any hosts, that offer low spec machines, possibly:

    800mhz
    256mb of ram
    30-50gb of bandwidth

    you konw? just good enough for small things like a billing/some sort of control panell

    all my servers are pretty packed with lots of things, and im wanting to install something like OS Commerce

    so i'd feel much better running it on a seperate, clean, fresh, machine, dedicated only to billing/things like that

    I guess when you have a bunch of servers, that's just how you think. you want to seperate everything.

    some may think it is "dumb" of me to dedicate an entire machine to OScommerce, but it's just something that bothers me. i would rather have it on a seperate box, then put oscommerce on a box that hosts tons of websites + mail + dns along with other things...

    so does anyone know of any hosts, that STILL offer low spec machines, for a good price, and do local backups ?

    i say local back ups because i wouldnt want billing data to be lost now

    so if anyone knows of any places that still sell low spec machines, please post them
    Last edited by clocker1996; 08-25-2002 at 04:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    521
    doesn't nocster offer some bargain basement deals with those specs?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,857
    Charles offers some at http://www.affordableservers.net

    Matt
    Matthew Russell | Namecheap
    Twitter: @mattdrussell

    www.namecheap.com - hosting from a registrar DONE RIGHT!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    nocster might sound cool but the downtime i dunno about heh
    lots of threads

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, South Yorks
    Posts
    3,480
    800MHz woul dbe overkill for most peoples billing, just because you can get 2Ghz processors it doesn't mean that 800Mhz has slowed down, 800MHz is still enough for hosting quite a few sites.
    Karl Austin :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    UK Business Hosting and Managed Servers - Hosting for Business Users :: 0800 5429 764
    Call us today and ask about our hosting solutions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,963
    heehe
    well... all my servers are 1500mhz or higher, with 1gb of ram or higher, so i look at things differently

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, South Yorks
    Posts
    3,480
    Faster processors are great, but with faster processors people tend to put more people per server because they can do without overloading them, which means that when something fails it fails for a higher proportion of customers then it would do normally
    Karl Austin :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    UK Business Hosting and Managed Servers - Hosting for Business Users :: 0800 5429 764
    Call us today and ask about our hosting solutions.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Downunder..
    Posts
    2,612
    Karl - very clever..

    No really, thanks for sharing the information with us.

  9. #9
    Liquid Web can offer some machines in this spec range, depending on availability.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,277
    Originally posted by clocker1996
    nocster might sound cool but the downtime i dunno about heh
    lots of threads
    They are back and stable again... there are a few threads about them since the fbi thingie.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Downunder..
    Posts
    2,612
    heh..

    next your going to find out Nocster is hosting Saddam Husseins secret service "Mukhabarat"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Posts
    1,096
    LOL! rofl! Muhbarak. yeah.
    In just two days, tomorrow will be yesterday.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    1,074
    serveroutsource has/had a duron 900 for $0 setup + $79 a month. that would have been a good box for what you're looking to do. came with 300gb bandwidth too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •