Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    541

    Optimizing httpd.conf...

    I remember seeing a website/forum where you couldn't post your server stats and httpd.conf settings and experts would give advice on settings you should use.

    Does anyone know the url to this site, or site similar to it

  2. #2
    So you mean you are not able to post your httpd.conf details in this thread ? Anyways you may need to take a look at this link, Hope this helps you.


    http://www.faqs.org/docs/securing/chap29sec245.html
    www.24x7servermanagement.com
    Server Management, Server Security, Server Monitoring.
    India's Leading Managed Service Provider !! Skype: techs24x7

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    Quote Originally Posted by acctman View Post
    I remember seeing a website/forum where you couldn't post your server stats and httpd.conf settings and experts would give advice on settings you should use.

    Does anyone know the url to this site, or site similar to it
    I'm sure if you posted part of your configuration file here along with your server stats someone would help you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    541
    hmm i just noticed something my new Apache 2.2 upgrade httpd.conf file does not have an preset settings. Its okay to into all the KeepAlive, MaxClient, etc settings at the top?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,479
    They are in the extras folder, file httpd-defaults.conf

  6. #6
    Steve_Arm can u say the exact location for that config for apache 2.2, which is better apachi 2.2 or 2.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    1,479
    Well in my boxes it's:
    /usr/local/apache2/conf/extra/httpd-default.conf

    Use apache latest.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cardboard box
    Posts
    1,023
    Quote Originally Posted by rathin View Post
    Steve_Arm can u say the exact location for that config for apache 2.2, which is better apachi 2.2 or 2.0
    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?p=5124514

  9. #9
    Thanks for the info,i will upgrade to apachi 2.2 for one of my server and i will update in this thread

  10. #10
    ya,i updated to 2.2 but httpd-default.conf i cant able to see max_client but in httpd-mpm.conf i can able to see that,the defult value is 150 so is used

    ServerLimit 400
    MaxClients 300

    Value and restarted the apachi,but max_client not increaded it show 250 only any help

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kochi,INDIA
    Posts
    331
    Do you use apache in MPM model?. Normally people use Prefork model as in mpm things like php has to be compiled in threadsafe

    Have you installed apache using a rpm/deb package

    rpm -ql <package-name>

    dpkg -L <package-name>

    would display all files installed by a particular package

    Hope this would aid in finding your config file
    http://xtendweb.gnusys.net/
    Plug in Nginx & Plug in performance on cPanel systems
    WebOps on cPanel . Deploy webapps to multiple servers and scale horizontally

  12. #12
    i useing easy apachi only, i tryied rpm -ql command it show mpm_prefork not installed,any idea where i have to change the maxclient in apachi 2.2.8

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kochi,INDIA
    Posts
    331
    Cpanel installs apache from source so rpm -ql wont work

    chk for folders like

    /usr/local/apache/

    I think in apache2 the httpd.conf file was renamed to apache2.conf

    Not sure about that one though(In debian its apache2.conf;but cpanel dont support debian)

    do a

    ll /usr/local/apache*

    for the exact folder where apache is installed into
    http://xtendweb.gnusys.net/
    Plug in Nginx & Plug in performance on cPanel systems
    WebOps on cPanel . Deploy webapps to multiple servers and scale horizontally

  14. #14
    no i can able to see httpd.conf file,my os is red hat,apachi version 2.2.8,even mpm_prefork i increased the limit but no responce from apachi

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Arm View Post
    They are in the extras folder, file httpd-defaults.conf
    these are the only settings I could find in the httpd-defaults.conf any idea where everything else is at?

    Timeout 300
    KeepAlive On
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
    KeepAliveTimeout 5
    UseCanonicalName Off
    ServerTokens Full
    HostnameLookups Off

    2 Dual Core Intel 5130 Xeon - 2.0 GHz 1333FSB
    2GB RAM : 3 x 146GB SCSI HDD

    I'm running a pretty large community site with lots of image, video sharing. I also have Flash Media server running on one of the HD's that'll be moved to a dedicated server next month.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •