Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179

    lossing entries on my /etc/localdomains

    hello every1, I discovered this forum googling and i think is a very good community, so i registered and well... as any noob, started to ask questions U.U im new in this stuff of web hosting... though i know some things... i dont have experience, its my first job in a small web hosting company, and we have a strange problem, we loss entries on /etc/localdomains when we migrate domains from one server to another and nobody knows why... we can fix it trough deleting the dns entry and creating it again on the target server. I know its kinda messy (for me at least) i hope u can give me at least an insight of where the problem might be.

    We do the migration trough the migration tool of WHM

    Here is some data about the target migration server, if u need something else... please tell me.

    CENTOS Enterprise 5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    uname -r
    2.6.18-8.el5
    vmstat 5 5
    procs -----------memory---------- ---swap-- -----io---- --system-- -----cpu------
    r b swpd free buff cache si so bi bo in cs us sy id wa st
    0 0 192 97048 155992 1389040 0 0 267 86 1 1 7 1 84 8 0
    0 0 192 94196 156188 1390220 0 0 12 1011 1572 843 9 3 80 7 0
    0 0 192 96304 156344 1390500 0 0 6 1026 1547 829 4 2 87 7 0
    0 0 192 99148 156424 1390968 0 0 0 535 1358 624 2 1 94 2 0
    1 0 192 93328 156504 1391448 0 0 2 614 2133 944 8 4 86 3
    TOP
    top - 15:58:23 up 35 days, 18:01, 2 users, load average: 0.69, 0.81, 0.82
    Tasks: 167 total, 2 running, 165 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 12.2%us, 2.4%sy, 0.0%ni, 70.8%id, 13.6%wa, 0.2%hi, 0.8%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 2067196k total, 1996764k used, 70432k free, 183616k buffers
    Swap: 4096440k total, 192k used, 4096248k free, 1373680k cached
    lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L1 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev b0)
    Thank u for ur time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    CP 11 comes with a nasty (and annoying) feature, setting up /etc/localdomains and /etc/remotedomains . This will be very annoying to some, and I found it to be very frustrating. Most likely THIS is what's causing your problem.

    To resolve:

    In WHM->setup, find
    Automatically setup /etc/localdomains, /etc/remotedomains, /etc/secondarymx based on where the mx entry is pointed.
    and UN tick that

    Save settings

    Now, what causes this?
    This is caused because cpanel attempts to verify that mail for that domain should be accepted on that server, and if so, adds it to localdomains. If NOT, it adds it to remotedomains.

    Why would this be different?
    Well, say you had 2 MX entries, low and high, one for your server (low), and a backup for another server.

    Cpanel would automatically assume (incorrectly) that mail for that domain shouldn't be processed and add that to remotedomains.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    thank u so much for the quick answer, i've already UNsticked that now when we migrate another domain we'll see if it works.

    Once again, thank u. I've received a congratulation from my boss ^^ hope it works

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    Yeah, what linux-tech said is most likely the problem and I'd also have to agree that it's a total PITA at times! If you find that your localdomains are still screwed up, instead of manually fixing everything just try the following script to force a rebuild of the file:

    /scripts/updateuserdomains
    Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
    400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com

    www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by Pat H View Post
    Yeah, what linux-tech said is most likely the problem and I'd also have to agree that it's a total PITA at times! If you find that your localdomains are still screwed up, instead of manually fixing everything just try the following script to force a rebuild of the file:

    /scripts/updateuserdomains

    o.O thanks a lot!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •