working with a web designer - help with timing of payments, proofs etc

Hi,

I am using WHT to find a good web designer for a new website, but despite being in the IT industry for some time (C++ etc), I have no experience of working with a web designer, particularly a remote one.

So I wanted to get some feedback from those who have been there, on what I should expect from the designer and what I should be providing to the designer. My questions are in the following areas :-

1. Payements - is partial payment up front the norm or do I hold payment until I see the first design?

2. Proofs (hope I have the right term) - should I expect the designer to produce a number of basic design proofs so that I can pick the one that works for me? Or am I way off base and most designers only produce the one design and I am expected to be happy with that?

3. Inspiration from me - I have put together a list of designs I like to give the designer. I assume this will help? Is there anything else I should be putting together to help the designer?

4. Content from me - do I need all the the content up and ready before contacting a designer. I know, probably a dumb question, but just looking for thoughts on this.

thanks
    mike

I'm unsure how much of this applies, because notoriously designers on WHT are quite cheap, and sell premade templates, however not all of them. Here's my advice anyway..

1. A retainer is normal but I would suggest not paying any more than 25% of the project worth upfront. Then depending on the length of the project periodic payments during the engagement. For example if you're contracting a particularly large project taking 2-4 months, you can bet they won't do all the work before seeing a single payment.