Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Need Co-Location -- For 10 1u Servers

    I have 10 1u Dual Xeon 2.4 ghz severs and I need to find a good place to co-locate.

    I'm not sure how many servers will fit in a rack, I'm pretty new to this.
    I just know I have 10 servers and I want to co-locate them for a decent price.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    price differs from one market location to another. What market location are you insterested in? Price will also depend on the bandwidth quality and amount you need.
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    219
    What area are your looking for colocation in? This will help you narrow it down to which data centers you can go to.
    Plutomic Hosting
    Empowering Your Web Ventures
    In Business Since 2005
    Specializing in Web Hosting, VPS, Managed Dedicated Servers and Managed Colocation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    What's your budget? Standard racks hold 42U - look for a quarter-rack package as it will be cheaper then a whole rack.



    Kind Regards,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA.
    Posts
    1,622
    You might get forced into a half rack. (Be aware how much power a provider allocates with a quarter rack.) Dual 2.4GHz Xeon can mean a lot of different things. It could easily mean a 2Amp machine under bootup/load. With 10 of those plus a switch and such... you're talking about more power then some providers give for a full rack.

  6. #6
    I need my server to be comparable to the ones on layeredtech . com and superb.n et

    I want them located in the USA, I'm in florida so somewhere around that region would be nice.


    I'm not sure about the power, here's the specs of the server.




    Computer:


    Computer Type Multiprocessor Server

    Motherboard:


    CPU Type 2x Intel Xeon, 2400 MHz (24 x 100)


    Motherboard Name Gigabyte 8IPXDRE-DP


    Motherboard Chipset Intel Plumas-533 E7501


    System Memory 2048 MB (Registered ECC DDR SDRAM)


    BIOS Type AMI (10/02/03)


    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)


    Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)


    Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

    Display:


    Video Adapter RAGE XL PCI (8 MB)


    3D Accelerator ATI 3D-Rage XL

    Storage:


    IDE Controller Intel(R) 82801CA Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 248B


    Disk Drive WDC WD1200SB (120 GB, IDE)


    SMART Hard Disks Status OK

    Input:


    Keyboard PC/AT Enhanced PS/2 Keyboard (101/102-Key)


    Mouse HID-compliant mouse

    Network:


    Primary IP Address 127.0.0.1


    Primary MAC Address 00-0D-61-11-00-9D


    Network Adapter Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter

    Peripherals:


    USB1 Controller Intel 82801CA ICH3-S - USB Controller [B-1]


    USB1 Controller Intel 82801CA ICH3-S - USB Controller [B-1]

    DMI:


    DMI BIOS Vendor American Megatrends Inc.


    DMI BIOS Version F6


    DMI System Manufacturer GOOGLE


    DMI System Product Intel Plumas 533 (E7501)


    DMI System Version A1 stepping


    DMI Motherboard Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.


    DMI Motherboard Product 8IPXDRE-DP


    DMI Motherboard Version 1.0


    DMI Chassis Type Chenbro RM117


    DMI Total / Free Memory Sockets 6 / 2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    You can check the following in Florida :

    HiVelocity

    Surpass / HostDime

    I'm sure there may be others.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    2,656
    Looks like netburst xeons, so looking at 2amps per server as a conservative estimate, you'll need 30 amps of power. Most providers won't allow more than 40amps of power per full cabinet, so chances are you're going to be looking at a full cabinet + an additional power circuit.
    ASTUTE HOSTING: Advanced, customized, and scalable solutions with AS54527 Premium Canadian Optimized Network (Level3, PEER1, Shaw, Tinet)
    MicroServers.io: Enterprise Dedicated Hardware with IPMI at VPS-like Prices using AS63213 Affordable Bandwidth (Cogent, HE, Tinet)
    Dedicated Hosting, Colo, Bandwidth, and Fiber out of Vancouver, Seattle, LA, Toronto, NYC, and Miami

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    You should have no problem finding providers that allow extra power in the cabs. I know at least one that will do it.



    Regards,

  10. #10
    You can use Atlantic.Net - they are located in Orlando. 1-877-462-8526 option 1.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    665
    Colo4Dallas.com as well as SteadFast.net are excellent colo providers.
    http://www.futurehosting.com
    Managed, Unmanaged VPS, Dedicated Servers, CDN
    Available locations: Australia, Amsterdam, Detroit, London, Santa Clara, Miami

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •