View Poll Results: How much memory does your webserver have?

Voters
24. You may not vote on this poll
  • 128mb-256mb

    1 4.17%
  • 256-512mb

    5 20.83%
  • 512mb-1gig

    9 37.50%
  • 1 gig+

    9 37.50%
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    63

    How much memory really do you need for a web server?

    Hey I am trying to figure out how much memory a standard web server should have... i read the tech people saying 128mb, then almost everyone else saying at least a GIG... anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,779
    Depends on what the server is setup to do, shared web hosting of static sites 200 or so sites per server then 512 will do.
    A single site on a dedicated you can get by with 256.
    Reseller server with heavy usage etc. 512-1 Gig.

    All this also depends on type of drives processer etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    As Monte said, it really depends on the usage of the server. Also, if the content is static or dynamic. Another important thing to consider is if the server will solely be a web server, or will it serve mail, database, ftp, etc.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,621
    I put around 2-4GB on my web servers ... The more, the better. There is no reason (except cost) not to put as much memory as your motherboard allows. For that reason, do not choose motherboards that will allow you only up to 512MB of memory.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    4GB, now that's what I call a server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    63
    really? wow. Is there not a point where its just a waste? I guess 1gb is pretty safe then.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    I'd say 512MB is the minimum.

    RAM is fairly cheap, I remember when 16MB ram cost $150, and that was going in on a bulk order. Darn, now I feel old....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    63
    I guess a better question is, how do you know when its time to get more memory? is there like a program or something you can run in linux that monitors that kind of thing?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    free

    Once, you start using over 2/3rd of your RAM for applications, it's time to add more.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    63
    i know its a stupid question, but whats the best program to monitor memory in redhat?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,508
    Most servers I have built for people, generally 1GB-1.5GB seems to be the popular mark. And generally 1GB is just fine for hosting a good deal of static web pages, or can handle some high resource intensive websites. I beleive once you are using 2GB+, you should consider getting another server online. IMO 1.5GB is the ideal mark.
    Linux junkie | steward.io

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    2,978
    Ancient proverb:

    Wimpy machine require wimpy memory. Strong machine require strong memory.

    -Mark Adams
    www.bitserve.com - Secure Michigan web hosting for your business.
    Only host still offering a full money back uptime guarantee and prorated refunds.
    Offering advanced server management and security incident response!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,857
    We have a server limited to 512MB of memory by the m/board - and it really restricts the number of clients on it, we now consider 1GB or more essential for a server.

    Matt
    Matthew Russell | Namecheap
    Twitter: @mattdrussell

    www.namecheap.com - hosting from a registrar DONE RIGHT!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    63
    ok, so how many clients/memory is the ratio? Like 256mb for 20 clients, 512 for 50, 1g for 100? or is it more?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,857
    We don't really have a client / memory ratio - we just found that the machine was restricted by the small amount of memory, so stopped adding clients to it so to not overload it.
    Matthew Russell | Namecheap
    Twitter: @mattdrussell

    www.namecheap.com - hosting from a registrar DONE RIGHT!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    221
    I don't think there's a real x clients per y memory ratio. I think it is, to some degree, a logistic graph (second graph here). When you go from, say, 256 to 512, the change is big. When you go from 512 to 1024, the change is Very Big, but when you go higher than 1 GB, it sort of levels off because of server load.

    - James

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •