hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Tracking down load issue
Reply

Forum Jump

Tracking down load issue

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,320

Tracking down load issue


Hi,

I have a CentOS box here that is causing some strange load. Brand new X3230 (4*2.66Ghz), 2GB ram and 2*500GB SATA2 in raid-1 on a LSI MegaIDE controller.

Basically the server is continuesly at a load of 1. However I dont see why. No CPU load, and no IO as far as I can see. Does anybody have a tip where to look for the problem?

Quote:
top - 05:01:56 up 1:53, 2 users, load average: 1.00, 1.02, 1.20
Tasks: 81 total, 1 running, 80 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu0 : 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Cpu1 : 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Cpu2 : 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Cpu3 : 0.3%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni, 99.7%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 2072132k total, 591072k used, 1481060k free, 65652k buffers
Swap: 2048276k total, 0k used, 2048276k free, 461532k cached
Quote:
# iostat
Linux 2.6.18-53.el5 (xxxx.xandrios.net) 05/14/2008

avg-cpu: %user %nice %system %iowait %steal %idle
2.65 0.56 5.56 0.97 0.00 90.26

Device: tps Blk_read/s Blk_wrtn/s Blk_read Blk_wrtn
sda 6.44 99.67 255.89 686581 1762792
Quote:
# hdparm -tT /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
Timing cached reads: 16092 MB in 2.00 seconds = 8057.39 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 88 MB in 3.04 seconds = 28.92 MB/sec
With the WHT benchmark test the machine scores about 520 points, seems not bad either.

Only thing I could think of is that it has something to do with the raidcard. The data transfer rate is quite low. Could it be that the card is rebuilding the array? Can I check that without rebooting?

__________________
Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T


Last edited by Xandrios; 05-13-2008 at 09:12 PM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Performance Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,522
You should be able to check the state of the array (no reboot required) by downloading the CLI and/or storage manager from your RAID card manufacturer.

  #3  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Load average refers to how many processes are using or waiting for the CPU, hence it is possible a single process can cause a load of 1 without using much CPU. I'm not sure under what circumstances this might occur but it is possible.

Don't most RAID controllers require that you use the BIOS to rebuild a a RAID set?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by layer0 View Post
You should be able to check the state of the array (no reboot required) by downloading the CLI and/or storage manager from your RAID card manufacturer.
Thanks. I guess I should contact support to figure out which card it is exactly since dmesg does not seem to give a model no.

Quote:
Load average refers to how many processes are using or waiting for the CPU, hence it is possible a single process can cause a load of 1 without using much CPU. I'm not sure under what circumstances this might occur but it is possible.

Don't most RAID controllers require that you use the BIOS to rebuild a a RAID set?
Well, all the 4 cores are 100% idle. So the problem kinda must be somewhere else. All running processes are sleeping as well, with one exception: The raidcard driver at status 'D'. (Should be expected).

__________________
Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,320
Turns out it is an onboard raidcontroller provided by the mainboard (Intel SR1530). They checked the HDD utilization and the drives were almost completely idle...so its not like there is a rebuild in progress or anything like that.

Besides IO, what could cause such load? It is *exactly* 1.0:

13:08:50 up 10:49, 2 users, load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

__________________
Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 315
While running top, if you hit 'i' to filter out all of the idle processes, are you left with any processes in the list that are constantly in the "run" state?

__________________
Take 2 Hosting, Inc. - Hosting Done Right
Fully automated setup - new servers in as little as 10 minutes
http://www.take2hosting.com/

  #7  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xandrios View Post
Turns out it is an onboard raidcontroller provided by the mainboard (Intel SR1530). They checked the HDD utilization and the drives were almost completely idle...so its not like there is a rebuild in progress or anything like that.

Besides IO, what could cause such load? It is *exactly* 1.0:

13:08:50 up 10:49, 2 users, load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00
On my quadcore system, my load average is 4.00 all the time. Why? I run SETI@Home. Someone might be running one of these distributed computing programs so check for that. Wouldn't hurt to post the full process list.

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oz
Posts: 3,497
* Moved to Tech/Security Issues.


Alex

  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by msherman View Post
While running top, if you hit 'i' to filter out all of the idle processes, are you left with any processes in the list that are constantly in the "run" state?
Quote:
top - 06:57:39 up 1 day, 4:38, 1 user, load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00
Tasks: 138 total, 1 running, 137 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 0.0%us, 0.0%sy, 0.0%ni,100.0%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 2072132k total, 1188276k used, 883856k free, 122448k buffers
Swap: 2048276k total, 56k used, 2048220k free, 925808k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
423 root 15 0 0 0 0 D 0 0.0 0:00.00 megaide
14063 root 15 0 2172 1028 792 R 0 0.0 0:00.02 top
Seems that the raid driver does have something to dow with it. But what exactly..

__________________
Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Managed WordPress Web Host Pagely Grows International Presence Web Hosting News 2014-11-04 14:24:52
Managed WordPress Web Host Pagely Suffers Temporary Downtime Web Hosting News 2014-10-30 15:47:35
WHMCS Security Issue Allows for Information Disclosure Web Hosting News 2013-10-25 09:30:46
Amazon Web Services Northern Virginia Outage Rocks Instagram, Vine Web Hosting News 2013-08-26 14:33:03
GoGrid Launches Dynamic Load Balancer Service Built for Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-01-29 10:07:53


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?