Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    565

    Question Server Configuration for High Traffic

    We're expecting a large spike in traffic (40k visits in one day) soon. We’re running on a very powerful server with CentOS & cPanel.

    Is there any specific configuration we can setup to prepare for the large visitor spike? The website is very database and PHP intensive. We want to avoid any downtime.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    APE: 6202A
    Posts
    1,273
    Put the db on another server...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,403
    As hosteur said, you can separate the web server and db server, or go with the cluster/load balance solution.
    For db server, you should go with this configuration or greater: Dual Quad Core Xeon, 8GB ECC RAM, 8x 15k SAS HDDs in RAID10.
    Tommy Tran - tommy @ vinax.net ::: VINAX, LLC ::: http://vinax.net ::: Since 2004
    Premium Dedicated Servers and Colocation in downtown Chicago (350 E. Cermak Rd)
    Premium Bandwidth, 100% Network & Power Uptime SLA, 24/7 Prompt Tech Support

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    565
    Quote Originally Posted by hosteur View Post
    Put the db on another server...
    I meant something along the lines of OS/software settings.

    We already have a dual quad core, 8 gb of ram, 15k SAS raid 10

  5. #5
    If I may, 40k visitors in one day is really nothing. Now if that is 40k/hour then yes, but 40k in one day, a simple Cele can handle that kind of load. That is only 2.1 hits a second.

    We have a server setup with dual quad cores and 8GB, 10k raid1, and it runs so pretty heavy duty php/mysql sites and it avg is 52hits/sec and the load on it hovers around 0.45

    If you are expecting 40k over a 24 hour period, I personally would not loose any sleep.

    Anthony

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    If you get a lightweight webserver, you may not need a lot of memory.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    829
    cache php/sql intensive pages. ex: pages with more then 10 sql queries, have then cache to html and only generate every 5 minutes instead. I have this for one of my sites, works great.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    DataCenter
    Posts
    646
    switch to clustered system it wil help you out in all ways
    ProlimeHost - Dedicated Server Hosting & Kvm SSD VPS
    Three Datacenter Location: Los Angeles, Denver & Singapore
    SuperMicro Hardware | Multiple Bandwidth Providers | 24/7 on Site Engineers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    1,320
    40k hits in 24h is nothing. A simple celeron can handle 4 times that amount. What kind of application are you running that requires so much power?
    Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

  10. #10
    well it really depends on the application... i have got a heavy MySQL site on a xeon 4 GB.. and it stops responding when the average is 10K visitors per day.. optimize your mysql & application i'd say
    Wholesale Domain Prices for Retail Customers - Rushtoweb.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    345
    If it's a custom php/mysql app, you should probably load test it to see how much traffic it can handle, and where the bottlenecks are.

    You can also do a quick guess on how much the server can handle based on page load times. that is, if the page loads in 1 second, it should be able to handle 3600 page views per hour, no problem. However, if it takes 10 seconds to load the page, you might see some issues.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    829
    Also if it takes 1 sec chances are there's some tweaking to be done. Check this for example:

    Server Time: May 10 2008 02:16:38 pm (1210446998)
    mysql queries: 10
    Script execution time: 0.00826 Seconds
    Memory usage: 464.09KB
    ŠCopyright 2007 - Powered by SquirrelBBS v0.6
    This is a custom forum I've been working on and kinda abandoned and need to finish one day... but check out that execution time. That's on a shared host too, not on my own server.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    Quote Originally Posted by ServerVina View Post
    As hosteur said, you can separate the web server and db server, or go with the cluster/load balance solution.
    For db server, you should go with this configuration or greater: Dual Quad Core Xeon, 8GB ECC RAM, 8x 15k SAS HDDs in RAID10.
    Just curious. What are you basing that on? Did I miss a post when the OP described the size or the usage other than 40k hits?

    Why do you think they re db dependant and how did you come up with this sizing? Honestly I am just asking.

    Smaller servers than that ran a datawarehouse / BI db with > 1million active subscription based customers so greater than 5million actual records.

    Its easy to size things if you just go big.
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    1,320
    Exactly. People here throw maxxed specs around here too often. Not needed at all
    Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,175
    I think they do it to try and advertise their signature/business.
    www.DMEHosting.com - DME Hosting LLC | Servers, KVM/OpenVZ VPS's, Email Hosting, Web Hosting

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    China
    Posts
    67
    Xeon 5420, 8GB ECC RAM, 8x 15k SAS HDDs in RAID10.

    thanks

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Coolraul View Post
    Just curious. What are you basing that on? Did I miss a post when the OP described the size or the usage other than 40k hits?
    Did the OP said 40k hits?
    Tommy Tran - tommy @ vinax.net ::: VINAX, LLC ::: http://vinax.net ::: Since 2004
    Premium Dedicated Servers and Colocation in downtown Chicago (350 E. Cermak Rd)
    Premium Bandwidth, 100% Network & Power Uptime SLA, 24/7 Prompt Tech Support

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy059 View Post
    I think they do it to try and advertise their signature/business.
    Well, did I violated the forum signature rules? I just tried to help the OP, and I think I should show my signature. What did you help the OP and showing your signature?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    Quote Originally Posted by ServerVina View Post
    Did the OP said 40k hits?
    To be precise they said 40k visits but you didn't really answer my question. Which is ok I guess.

    What are you basing that recommendation on. It could be absolutely right but I just don't know how you came to such a configuration.

    For the record, I believe your recommendation to be wrong but perhaps you are privy to more information than I am.
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Coolraul View Post
    To be precise they said 40k visits but you didn't really answer my question. Which is ok I guess.

    What are you basing that recommendation on. It could be absolutely right but I just don't know how you came to such a configuration.

    For the record, I believe your recommendation to be wrong but perhaps you are privy to more information than I am.
    Yes, the OP said 40k visits. It's probably 40k visitors, which are completely different with the hits. The OP also said the website is very database and PHP intensive. That's why I recommended that config, but I may be wrong!
    Quote Originally Posted by dgessler View Post
    I meant something along the lines of OS/software settings.

    We already have a dual quad core, 8 gb of ram, 15k SAS raid 10
    The OP already have that config. Do you think their site is that small?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •