liquidweb review

Just thought It was time to give another review of my experiences with liquid web. The last review I wrote was about 18months ago.

I have been running a small web hosting business for the last 6 years, & I have been a customer of liquidweb for just over 3 years. I have had a dedicated server with liquidweb (since April 2005) and also now have a VPS from them since August 2007.

Before using liquidweb for a dedicated server, I used a variety of reseller accounts, & also several VPS from different providers.

The main reason I chose liquidweb for a dedicated server provider was because I required a fully managed dedicated server (as my knowledge of linux is fairly limited). I also liked the fact that they have 24 hour telephone support. Liquidweb seemed to have a fairly good name at WHT.

Price was also a factor. I wasnt looking for the cheapest dedicated server out there, but I didn't want to pay too much either.

While other providers appeared to have cheaper offerings at first glance, by the time extras such as extra RAM, RAID 1, additional backup drive, off server backup space etc. was added to the price, 9 times out of 10 liquid web came out cheaper than the competition. They even worked out cheaper than most unmanaged server providers, by the time extra's were factored into the cost.

My first server with liquidweb was configured as follows:

Dual AMD Opteron 1800 mHz CPU.
    2gb RAM
    RAID 1 with 120gb Hard Drives.
    Additional 120gb backup drive.
    Additional 50gb off server storage for backup.
    1200gb in, 1200 gb out bandwidth.

I had this server from April 2005 till August 2007 before I decided to upgrade the server. During this time, there was only one instance of about 15 - 20 mins of downtime that could be attributed to any sort of failure with liquidweb (apparently due to a lightning strike on the data centre).