Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    217

    Windows 2003 Server Standard R2

    Hello everybody,

    Just a quick question and request for comment (I have posted this here as it's a pretty urgent question).

    I have to setup a company server over a huge hardware profile made for me :

    - 8 cpu
    - 16gb RAM
    - gbits LAN
    - 1 TB of RAID-5 storage bay

    The server will be splitted in two server (it's actually a balde running ESX and two guests).

    My question is :

    - I am better to setup 64 bits or better run the old and stable 32 bits ?

    I consider this question because :

    - I might install Exchange 2007
    - I might upgrade to Windows 2008

    Out of this, is there known problem/issue with 64 bits Windows 2003 OS ?

    Thank you for all your remarks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    47
    correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't exchange 2007 require 64-bit?
    [URL="http://www.careermarketplace.com"]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tega Cay
    Posts
    763
    Quote Originally Posted by asoduk View Post
    correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't exchange 2007 require 64-bit?
    You are correct, 32-bit is not supported in production environments.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Coast // NYC
    Posts
    1,693
    You won't be able to run 16GB of RAM with 32bit because the operating system won't be able to address it even though it'll still see it. 64 bit is definately the way to go here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    Windows2003 32bit will not support 16 gig of RAM. the max is 4 gig due to 32bit limit. You should use 64 bit if you to use all 16 gig of RAM.

  6. #6
    Both of the above posters are incorrect.

    Windows 32-bit *WILL* support more than 4 gigs of RAM(up to 128 gig), but you need Enterprise or Datacenter Edition. The 4 gig limitation is due to standard edition, not because the OS is 32-bit.
    Frank Wilson | Chief Engineer
    SimpleCDN Technologies, Inc.
    http://www.simpleCDN.com
    800.269.3033 ext 704

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    Quote Originally Posted by FrankWilson View Post
    Both of the above posters are incorrect.

    Windows 32-bit *WILL* support more than 4 gigs of RAM(up to 128 gig), but you need Enterprise or Datacenter Edition. The 4 gig limitation is due to standard edition, not because the OS is 32-bit.
    You're correct.

    "All of the Intel x86 family processors since the Pentium Pro include a memory-mapping mode called Physical Address Extension (PAE). With the proper chipset, the PAE mode allows access to up to 64 GB of physical memory. When the x86 executes in PAE mode, the memory management unit (MMU) divides virtual addresses into four fields."

  8. #8
    Unless you have specific software that requires you have a 32bit Windows Server OS, go with 64bit. You will need to make the 64bit jump eventually so you might as well do it now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,292
    Windows Server 2008 works great with HyperV in 64-bit as well, not available in 32bit

  10. #10
    Really the only reason to run 32-bit server 2003 with that much RAM was SQL Server 2000, as it was one of the only 32-bit applications that could even handle more than 2 gigs of RAM. The above posters are leading you the correct way though... I agree that 64-bit should be used whenever possible!

    :-)
    Frank Wilson | Chief Engineer
    SimpleCDN Technologies, Inc.
    http://www.simpleCDN.com
    800.269.3033 ext 704

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •