hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Programming Discussion : Easy PHP Poll script?
Reply

Forum Jump

Easy PHP Poll script?

Reply Post New Thread In Programming Discussion Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 195

Easy PHP Poll script?


I have checked Hotscripts.com for a full day at work here and tried tons of different scripts...some come up with errors (i don't know php well enough to fix them), some require databases which I do not have access to.

What I need is a simple poll/voting script which does not require a database, written in php where people can vote, and the results will either pop up in a small window, or show up parsed where the poll was...or not come up at all, and require a person to click on a "view results" link.

Anyone got something I can use here? And no, I'm not willing to pay cash...just asking for a little help. It's for a site I'm designing for work so I'm not willing to pay out of my pocket NOR ask them for cash.

Thanx.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Here?
Posts: 2,560
The Amazing Little Poll is a super simple php script that does what you need. Here's the link: http://www.evert.jervhost.com/LittlePoll/index.html The results come up immediately after voting.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 195
Yeah I tried that one...something happened though that I threw it out...can't remember what cuz I tried like 30 different ones. But i'll take ur advice and try it again. Thanx.

__________________
Lime Drop Marketing!
Web Design | Graphic Design | Logo Design
http://www.limedrop.ca

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
My guess is your PHP error_reporting is set to E_ALL and you are complaining about the notices it writes to the screen.

Regards,
Clarence Eldefors
http://cerebustools.com

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 195
yes...that sounds right...when you hit submit, it shows the results, but has like 4 lines of "something not defined on line ###" or something or other. How do I change that?

__________________
Lime Drop Marketing!
Web Design | Graphic Design | Logo Design
http://www.limedrop.ca

  #6  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 13
To change that, you need to add the following line to the top of your script:

PHP Code:
error_reporting  (E_ERROR E_PARSE); 
If that still doesn't work, I *think* that you can use:

PHP Code:
error_reporting (0); 
Note: The latter will turn off all error reporting.

Hope this helps

__________________
Mark Carruth

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
US Data Storage Companies Struggle to Gain Complete Trust of IT Professionals: Study Web Hosting News 2014-04-30 11:05:37
Service Providers Push Updates to Fight OpenSSL Heartbleed Bug Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:31:27
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - December 6, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:37
Consumers Need to Be Proactive with Mobile Security: PayPal Study Web Hosting News 2013-10-11 12:44:20
OpenStack and the AWS API Debate Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:29


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?