Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77

    Cisco Catalyst WS-C2924-XL-EN

    I'm curious as to if I could use a Cisco Catalyst WS-C2924 in a datacenter environment without any issues? Anything I should know about this model? Just looking for a cost effective and used switch to start out with. Switch Configuration and Graphs? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,277

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,114
    This is probably the most common switch used in data centers worldwide. Very reliable and easy to manage.
    SiteSouth
    Atlanta, GA and Las Vegas, NV. Colocation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77
    Where is a good place to go to learn about the particulars of the switch configuration? Probably a google search would help lol but just looking for some advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77
    What about a WS-C1924-A?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    Stick with the 2924.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,554
    2900's are the MOST used switches, and pretty cheap.
    1900's are soooo old!
    Remote Hands and Your Local Tech for the Los Angeles area.

    (310) 573-8050 - LinkedIn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Just make sure you've got the one with the 4Mb flash. If you end up with an older one with 2Mb flash, you can't run the latest IOS and you can't do VLAN tagging.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77
    Can that be upgraded?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    2,656
    1900's use CatOS instead of IOS, and are a definite no-no. You can't get any useful realtime stats on them, and no PPS stats period, so if one of your customers is involved in a high PPS DoS attack, you'll have a much harder time finding who it is.
    ASTUTE HOSTING: Advanced, customized, and scalable solutions with AS54527 Premium Canadian Optimized Network (Level3, PEER1, Shaw, Tinet)
    MicroServers.io: Enterprise Dedicated Hardware with IPMI at VPS-like Prices using AS63213 Affordable Bandwidth (Cogent, HE, Tinet)
    Dedicated Hosting, Colo, Bandwidth, and Fiber out of Vancouver, Seattle, LA, Toronto, NYC, and Miami

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by xnvburlazzi View Post
    Can that be upgraded?
    The 2Mb flash cannot be upgraded to 4Mb. So bid carefully when buying these on the used market. Although I highly recommend something a bit newer like a 2950 which offers alot more features like rate limiting..
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,224
    You can buy them all day long on eBay, new in the box and cheap. We've got a bunch of them, and they are rock-solid.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77
    Yeah I can see that. Prices are not that bad. I wouldn't mind a used one.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    although they are widely used they have long sense been EOL.

    The 2950's aren't much of a premium over the 2924s and offer higher performance, newer code trains for IOS, and are a prettier shade of green

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    77
    I just feel like its a waste of a switch with only 1/4 a rack and all those open ports ....

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,224
    I should clarify. We're running the 2950, not 2924. Our older 2950s have two Fast-E fiber uplinks, while the newer 2950 'T' models have two copper Gig-E uplinks. The 24 device ports are 10/100 on either model. Obviously the T model is what you need if aggregrate traffic exceeds (or is expected to exceed) 100 Mbps.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,224
    Quote Originally Posted by xnvburlazzi View Post
    I just feel like its a waste of a switch with only 1/4 a rack and all those open ports ....
    You won't feel that way long-term. Never skimp on network gear.

    I've managed servers for customers who used cheap switches (like a cheap $40 5-port) and can say from direct first-hand experience they are not anywhere NEAR reliable enough in a hosting environment.

    They'll work at home for years with zero problems. As I type this response, behind my desk on the floor is a Netgear 5 port switch covered with dust, connecting my 3 workstations and a printer to the rest of the LAN. It's been flawless since I bought it circa 1999 or 2000. I can't even tell you the last time I power-cycled it, it's been that long. Was probably when I had to unplug everything when I replaced my UPS last year.

    But this same model I've seen crash & burn in a light traffic hosting situation. Repeatedly. Had a customer with 2 web servers, a DB server, and mail server, connected to this same model 5-port Netgear. It was so unreliable, I had to put it on a PDU so he could remotely power-cycle the switch every time it locked up... which happened a few times per month, and knocked his website offline every time. (that's how he knew when the switch was down)

    Initially we thought it was a defective switch, so he bought a new one and swapped it out. Same problem. It just couldn't handle the traffic, even though he was only using about 20 Mbps of bandwidth from us. The website was popular so there were a lot of sessions (hits) even though the total thoughput (Mbps) was low. The site was mostly text. He finally bought a Cisco 2950 from eBay and his problems vanished.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Netgear classic "blue metal" switches...One customer was pushing close to 100Mbps of streaming traffic on the $29.00 5-port version. No issues at all...go figure.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,224
    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    Netgear classic "blue metal" switches...One customer was pushing close to 100Mbps of streaming traffic on the $29.00 5-port version. No issues at all...go figure.
    How long ago? My story was circa 2003-2004. Maybe the newer blue-metal Netgear switches (which I'm a big fan of for personal and general office use) are more robust than the ones from 5 years ago. (?)

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    this was back in '03. If I recall we had to lock the rate at 100-full on our upstream cisco gear.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    Just make sure you've got the one with the 4Mb flash. If you end up with an older one with 2Mb flash, you can't run the latest IOS and you can't do VLAN tagging.
    I think you mean the 4MB model doesn't support trunking vs. the 8MB model which does.


    The 2950/60's are probably a better bet as they are newer, support more features, and are relatively cheap.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, IN
    Posts
    42
    btw does anyone have any broken cisco switches? I need a powersupply for a 2924XL EN. I also like repairing them. Yes I have no life.
    Geek

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    honestly you'll find a ton of clunkers on ebay that would have good psu's

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by packetm0nkey View Post
    I think you mean the 4MB model doesn't support trunking vs. the 8MB model which does.


    The 2950/60's are probably a better bet as they are newer, support more features, and are relatively cheap.
    You're right, and you're right.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •