Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    377

    What is mean "Bus error" in linux

    Dear All,

    I am newbie in Linux. Today I up 1 linux server and colo in DC.
    When I remote access by SSH and ype some command, the sshm will show "Bus Error". May I know what is mean "Bus errro"?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    390
    Usually it meand you are out of ram.You should tail /var/log/messages to see any details.
    NOT a webhost!helping here just for the fun of it!
    G(r)eek inside.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    377
    It is a new sevrer. I just setup in DC. Somebody is say possibility is hard disk problem. Can try to full filesystem check. But I am not in DC, may I know how can I do full filesystem check?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    377
    I try tail /var/log/messages:

    Result

    May 2 11:48:56 server-01 kernel: hda: status error: status=0x80 { Busy }
    May 2 11:48:56 server-01 kernel: ide: failed opcode was: unknown
    May 2 11:48:56 server-01 kernel: hda: no DRQ after issuing MULTWRITE_EXT
    May 2 11:48:59 server-01 kernel: ide0: reset: success
    May 2 15:35:11 server-01 kernel: hda: status timeout: status=0x80 { Busy }
    May 2 15:35:11 server-01 kernel: ide: failed opcode was: unknown
    May 2 15:35:11 server-01 kernel: hda: drive not ready for command
    May 2 15:35:13 server-01 kernel: ide0: reset: success
    May 2 16:31:46 server-01 kernel: hda: status timeout: status=0x80 { Busy }

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    390
    If your hdd is smart capable enable it and see if this brings up an error.
    Contact your DC to fsck your server
    NOT a webhost!helping here just for the fun of it!
    G(r)eek inside.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Vestal, NY
    Posts
    1,378
    Looks like it could be a bad drive or bad drive controller. I would certainly suggest running some smart tests on it, but the safest bet would be to replace the drive. If you still get errors after replacing the drive, replace the motherboard or IDE controller.
    H4Y Technologies LLC Check out our new website!
    "Smarter, Cheaper, Faster" - SMB, Reseller, VDS, Dedicated, Colo hosting done right.

    ZERO PACKETLOSS, ZERO DOWNTIME Dedicated and Colo - USA: IA, CA, NC, OR, NV
    **http://h4y.us**
    Voice: (866)435-5642. *** Email: askus at host4yourself d0t com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •