Advice needed for choosing a webhost

Hi there,
    I'm a relative newbie and need advice on choosing a web host for the first time...

I've been to several sites but the list of features is overwhelming. How do you choose what's best and what sorts of features you should go with? Where do you start?

For instance everyone talks about Cpanel, but some sites provide Hsphere(I think?) - is that the same thing? Others say that you need Cpanel for every site on an unlimited domain option - why?

What features should be part of the package as a bare minimum?

Which web hosts would you suggest I look at?

Your help is appreciated...
    Regards

Greg

cPanel is the must supported control panel by web host and also the easiest to be used.
    What is your budget and what type of website are you going to have?
    Aspiration Hosting [US UK SG AU] - Cloud Web Hosting | Managed Cloud Server
    LiteMage / LiteSpeed Cache for Magento, WordPress, Joomla, Drupal & XenForo

Web Development Support Unmetered Bandwidth Aspiration CDN Magento Optimized

The budget is +- $12/month. Mostly looking at hosting affiliate offers right now, then onto a blog and review sites....

I see.
    Since you are going to host a blog, take note that it may be resource intensive.
    As such, you have to read the TOS of all the host that you are considering to check their limits on cpu and ram resource usage as most host tends to limit you that way.
    Your budget is quite ok. Remember that your host needs to allow you to have add-on domains as well.

Ok - so what sort of resources should I be looking at in terms of cpu and ram usage?

There is a fair and simple way

I enjoy cPanel myself. You should try several interfaces along the way to see what suits you best. Good luck.

Hello,