4 Month Review: Linode.com

Greetings,

Here is my review on Linode. I have been using them for 4 months now. I was referred to them by a friend and I will try to cover the most important areas.

They provide UML VPSes and Xen-based VPSes. My VPS is Xen-based. I use it for:

-Small IRC Server
    -Personal file/web hosting
    -SFTP/Shell access for myself and friends
    -Experiments and installs

Linode.com

Time Used: 4 Months

Setup: The setup was very quick. I ordered and payed and within a couple hours I was able to login. Their system is very cool because upon your first login you build your VPS from absolute scratch. You decide first off which of their 3 datacenters you would like it in, and also your OS choice and configure your swap space and everything.

Service and Network: These areas are very strong with linode. I chose their Dallas location in ThePlanet's datacenter. The network speeds are very fast. Pings are very quick, downloads max out, and many connections can be opened at once without anything noticeably slowing down. The host server I am on is a quad xeon 2Ghz and I'm not completely sure how much RAM it has but I know it is somewhere between 8-12GB. My pages and files always load quickly and the server load averages are never higher than normal. Their linode control panel is very nice since it was made in-house. It provides many customization options and things to play around with. Complete with CPU and network usage graphs as well as and area to start, stop, reboot, boot from another OS image, or reinstall your VPS, their control panel is probably the best I have used out of the 10+ VPS hosts I have experienced. Overall I would say they do a good job in this area.

Billing: Pretty good for the most part, auto-charges my credit card for each month's payment so I don't have to deal much with billing. No complaints.