Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1

    Domain Transfert

    Hello. I don't know if I'm in the forum, but here is my problem anyway:

    I just moved with Bright Light Websites. I would like to tranfer my domain, and they told me I would recieve information to show how by e-mail. I signed up yesterday, and still got information on that.

    Ok. I'm new to all that. I had a domain for a year now, and will be mine for two other years. Now I want to transfer it to Bright Light. but I don't know how. Everywhere I search for information, I read about registrar and DNS, but I don't know what this is.

    Please help me! I want my site to work!

  2. #2
    You don't really want to "transfer" the domain to BLW or their registrar. What you really want to do is point it to their nameservers.
    *AlphaOmegaHosting.Com* - Hosting since 1998
    Managed Dedicated Servers and VPS
    Hosted Exchange 2010 Email Service

  3. #3
    Well, firstly what you need to do is to go back to where you registered your domain name with. When I did a WhoIs on your domain name, it looks like it is registered with Network Solutions at http://www.netsol.com . You should be able to go through the procedure on how to change the DNS server info.

    I believe Bright Light would have given you the 2 DNS servers names and IP address . Just make the change and within 24 to 48 hours, the change would be made.

    On Network Solutions, here are the two FAQs which you should look at, it gives you step by step information on how to make the change.

    If you have a name and password
    https://www.netsol.com/en_US/help/modify-dnr-10.jhtml

    If you do not have a name and password
    https://www.netsol.com/en_US/help/modify-dnr-06.jhtml
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Thanks a lot Eddy!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    67
    Dark Angel, just contact your new host.
    They should walk you right through this,
    and get you on your way.

    ShagHost

  7. #7
    Do you want to give up your old web host or you want to maintain the new and the old accounts from the two hosts ?

    If you want to give up your old web host and use the new one at Bright Light, then you would need to copy all the files from the old web hosts and ftp them into your new host.

    Since the time being, the ftp account and web access points to the Old sites, you will not be able to use that to access the new hosts. Thus to be able to ftp and give your visitors web access to the new host using your domain name adnddownloads.com then you will have to make changes to the DNS servers to have it point to the new servers.

    The Domain Name Servers (DNS) is a place which 'stores' information on where your website is. It is like the street directory. It currently list your old house address. So people who wants to visit you gets to your old house. But since you shift, you want people to go to the new place and thus you update the address. Same thing here.

    But if you want to maintain both sites, the new and the old and you just want to refer to the old files then what you do is to redirect all hits to the new site to the old. Kindda doesn't make sense though.
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    Let me clarify what Dandan means..

    there's 2 parts of a web site.

    it's domain and it's host. Many people confuse between the two, but it's really quite simple (you may know this, i just would like to explain for the benifit of possibly helping someone else out here).

    A domain (http://www.yourname.com) is just like an operator. All it has to know is what NUMBER to dial to get to you and what number to put in the phone book. You don't have to stay at the same house your entire life with the same number... you may move as frequently as possible. The same is true with a domain registrar... you pay a yearly service for them to not only register your domain, but also manage it (which there really is nothing to it). The main feature you have there is to just change your 'phone number' (IP ADDY of where you're at) to whichever host you're at. Then within 24-72 hours (time it takes for the phone book to update around the globe), your site is updated with all the 'other' operators in the globe (ok, i know that can get complicated real fast, so i'll stop there.. but i know you're following).

    The Host. All that is, is where you're house is (the physical hard drive allotment your site resides).

    SO, if i were to visit www.abc.com, I would type it in my browser, hit return and the operator is dialed (i dont go directly to ABC.COM, unless my DNS is there [yeah, nevermind]). What happens is that when i type that addy in, it dials the 'operator' and the operator looks in the 'IP phone book' to find out WHERE this addy is? Once it does, it sends you to that IP (which is the exact web server that abc.com resides).

    SO, what im basically trying to say (if you're not lost by now) is how you don't need to use BLW's web site to use as a registrar (unless you really want to).

    Hope this helped someone (if so, please let me know so i can feel better about this post)
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    haha... wow, there was only 2 posts when i started that post and now, there's a bunch! it's all good!
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  10. #10
    Ok. You really help me guys. So here where I am now:

    I got no answer from my host in the last day (And I'd like this to be done as soon as possible.
    Now I am editing my DNS (I hope I am) an they ask me for a primary and secondary server. Here is what I found on my host's help forum: http://forums.brightlightwebsites.co...ct=ST&f=7&t=14

    What IPs do I enter, and is it really the same IP for all members a same host?

  11. #11
    Unfortunately, only the host can answer this one. It is totally dependent on how your host chose to configure their dns services. It is possible that all customers use a common set of dns servers...but not necessarily.

    However, I did query the dns server listed in the forums you referenced and they did respond to the request. So it appears that it would be the correct information.

    Hopefully your new host will be more responsive the next time you have a problem.
    *AlphaOmegaHosting.Com* - Hosting since 1998
    Managed Dedicated Servers and VPS
    Hosted Exchange 2010 Email Service

  12. #12
    Well, you need to enter both Primary and Secondary DNS information.

    Here is what you need to enter :-

    Primary : NS1.BRIGHTLIGHTWEBSITES.COM 216.180.225.11
    Secondary : NS2.BRIGHTLIGHTWEBSITES.COM 216.180.225.12

    It does looks like that it is a common DNS for all sites but you might want to check with them first.
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  13. #13
    Yaaaaaaahoooooooo! Finaly got an answer!

    ns1.brightlightwebsites.com
    ns2.brightlightwebsites.com

    Now I have to wait up to 72 hours... Thanks to all of you again.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    glad to see everything is resolved!
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  15. #15
    A bit more help please: do I have to "park" my domain? If not, please explain me what a parked domain is. Thanks!

  16. #16
    You do not need to 'park' a domain name if you are using it. Parking means that you put the domain name on hold before you know where you want to host it on or know what you want to use it for. It is sort of like putting it on hold.

    In your case, since you are using it for your existing site, you do not want to park it. Just transfer and use it.
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  17. #17
    Ok. And changing the two URLs in the DNS info should be enough to make the transfer if I understand well?

  18. #18
    Yup, pretty much would be enough to make the change. Of course, you will need to transfer the files from the old host to the new one or else you would see nothing when the domain is transferred.

    But do not cancel the old one until you are use everything is transferred so as to minimize the downtime.
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  19. #19
    Ok. Now I changed the DNS yesterday and now when I make a Who Is, the name servers are already changed. So why is my domain still linking to the old server? Is it because the WhoIs is changed, but the transition isn't done yet?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    well, if you remember the analogy i made in page 1 of this post, it takes 24-72 hours for all the 'IP phone books" to be updated. Which means SOME areas are currently already linking to your new site as others will take until the 72 hour time frame to finally update. It's just weird like that, but we have all gotten used to it.

    for example, you may be able to access your site in the morning, but STILL in some other areas, it wont be active... a full 72 hour turnover always is the safest time frame for a turnover.
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  21. #21

    Question

    Ok. I still have some questions (I might get anoying, but I think this forum is here for that)

    You see, I bought my domain on Namezero.com and they work with "bookmarks" (I think it's the same as subdomains). Take a look: http://adnd.hypermart.net/namezero.jpg

    So when the DNS will be totaly changed, weill these bookmarks still be active? Because, you see the last one says: http://www.adnddownloads.com/ redirects to: http://adndd.dfxwebs.com/index.shtml

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    well... if you are transfering your domain and THOSE bookmarks are on your old domain registrar, then when you transfer (its possible those bookmarks may not transfer with them). It really depends on 1) if the transfering registrar carries this same feature AND 2) if the transfering registrar has a transfer plan to transfer such things as well.

    I'm a bit unclear as if you mean bookmarks on your host or registrar (assuming registrar). Of course, I'm not too familiar with bookmarks to give full advice on, but that's what i DO know.
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  23. #23
    I'll explain you the whole thing.

    I bought domain with Namezero a year ago. I didn't know anything about DNS and stuff in that time (and I still don't know much...) so I've never changed any DNS setting in the past year I had the domain.

    I found a free host and he gave a URL a bit like the ones you get on Geocities. At Namezero, they told me I had to make bookmarks. So on the picture of my last message, you see the bookmark editing page. Every bokkmark refers to a URL:

    http://www.adnddownloads.com/ --> http://adndd.dfxwebs.com/index.shtml
    http://main.adnddownloads.com/ --> http://adndd.dfxwebs.com/main
    http://sheets.adnddownloads.com/ --> http://adndd.dfxwebs.com/sheets.shtml.shtml

    These are examples of bookmarks I made. If you visit my site, you'll see that none of my links look like: http://www.adnddownloads.com/anything.shtml
    I actualy can't do that!

    I suppose that by changing the DNS to Brightlight, I'll be able to do such things: http://www.adnddownloads.com/anything.shtml and won't have to make these bookmarks anymore. But I'm not sure.

    What I also think is that Namezero was a bit acting like a "redirection host" and the old name servers I had were actualy theirs. I hope you follow me here!

  24. #24
    Originally posted by Dark Angel
    Ok. Now I changed the DNS yesterday and now when I make a Who Is, the name servers are already changed. So why is my domain still linking to the old server? Is it because the WhoIs is changed, but the transition isn't done yet?
    The Whois would show that the DNS server settings are changed at NetSol but it would still need to populate the rest of the servers around the world and thus the 48 to 72 hours wait time.

    I usually go to http://www.tracert.com and use their PING and Traceroute functions, they hook up to several servers around the world so I could do a ping and traceroute using different servers by doing a sampling to see if all points to the same place. If it does not, then chances are it is still populating.

    The 72 hours would be a safe wait if you are unsure.
    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  25. #25
    Originally posted by Dark Angel
    I'll explain you the whole thing.

    I bought domain with Namezero a year ago. I didn't know anything about DNS and stuff in that time (and I still don't know much...) so I've never changed any DNS setting in the past year I had the domain.

    I found a free host and he gave a URL a bit like the ones you get on Geocities. At Namezero, they told me I had to make bookmarks. So on the picture of my last message, you see the bookmark editing page. Every bokkmark refers to a URL:

    http://www.adnddownloads.com/ --> http://adndd.dfxwebs.com/index.shtml

    I suppose that by changing the DNS to Brightlight, I'll be able to do such things: http://www.adnddownloads.com/anything.shtml and won't have to make these bookmarks anymore. But I'm not sure.

    What I also think is that Namezero was a bit acting like a "redirection host" and the old name servers I had were actualy theirs. I hope you follow me here!
    Yes, you are right. NameZero in your case does a redirect to the free host and once you move to brightlight, you get pure web hosting with the website and so on and when the DNS transfer is done, you do not need to do all those redirect anymore.

    http://www.batchimage.com - Offering Batch Image Processing and TIFF/PDF Software Solutions

  26. #26
    I talked to Namezero people and they told me that by changing the DNS, all the bookmarks will stop working (and everything else in their Plus! service).

    Thanks to all of you again!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    636
    GASP!

    still going to make the move? (curious)
    Geek 3 Computer Repair

  28. #28

    Thumbs up

    Sure I'll make the move! I hate these bookmarks. Every link I make on my site has to be located in a full page, or if you prefer all of them have to be "_top" links.

    And if I don't make the move, I'll never be able to use my new host which is much faster and stable.

    Oh! As you said, the DNS is partly changed. I went to my firend's house this morning and my domain was showing a page from my new host, but when I came back at home, it was still showing my old server page, and is still showing it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •