Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    46

    Auto Re-Provision

    I am looking for new VPS provider which provides Auto Re-Provision feature.

    I know Knownhost but I heard that they do not provide Auto Re-Provision feature and it costs US$5.00 per 1Re-Provision. And this Re-Provision cost is not described in Knownhost web-site.

    Using Google, I found RapidVPS, MediaTemple, Linode provides this feature. Do you know any other VPS company provides this feature?

  2. #2
    I'm guessing most providers that offer you access to Virtuozzo Power Panel should have this feature.
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,766
    Any provider that uses HyperVM should allow you to rebuild your VPS automatically and for free.
    -- Adam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA - Little Rock, AR
    Posts
    45
    I would agree that many will allow the VPS to be re-created, however you need to be cautious if you are using a control panel as those are generally installed after the base OS install is done.

    -Robert
    BitPath Networks, LLC - Professional VPS Hosting Services
    cPanel, DirectAdmin, and Plesk VPSs on the Virtuozzo Platform

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    553
    Hi,

    slicehost.com allow you to rebuild your VPS. Most do so it's worth checking with whoever you're thinking about going with.

    Matt
    SysAdminMan - Asterisk PBX hosting - FreePBX, A2Billing and Elastix

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    166
    You can rebuild your VPS anytime, unlimited times if the provider has HyperVM installed and its pretty faster.

    Regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    322

  8. #8
    I am looking for new VPS provider which provides Auto Re-Provision feature.

    I know Knownhost but I heard that they do not provide Auto Re-Provision feature and it costs US$5.00 per 1Re-Provision. And this Re-Provision cost is not described in Knownhost web-site.

    Just wanted to clarify the above. We do have listed in our TOS here, http://www.knownhost.com/company/tos.html#15 regarding rebuild fees. The first rebuild is free for whatever reason and after that there is a $5 one time fee.

    Also, as BitPath mentioned, if you do have a control panel installed on the VPS using the "Reinstall VPS" tool in Virtuozzo will kill any installed control panel and also undo any customization, licenses, etc. It will basically provision you a clean OS VPS. I assume this is why most Virtuozzo based VPS's do not have Auto Re-Provision.

    KH Sales
    KnownHost Managed VPS Specialists
    Toll Free: (866)-332-9894
    Follow us on Twitter: @KnownHost
    Fully Managed VPS, Hybrid, and Dedicated Servers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    46

    Thanks

    Thanks everyone.
    Slicehost seems good (My friend using this now).
    I will plan to use it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,246
    For future reference, I would always contact the company before purchasing to double-check this. Some webhosts may not have the free re-provision on their website, but may offer it free of charge.
    Crissic Solutions, LLC - Affordable VPS Solutions.
    Our business is based on Honesty & Transparency!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •