Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    108

    Granting an extra phpMyAdmin login without cPanel access?

    How can I give somebody phpMyAdmin access to a specific database, without giving them the cPanel login for that account?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    Download phpmyadmin to the website
    Configure phpmyadmin to use htpasswd authentication
    give them the url to access it and the dbuser/pass

    Easy as pie!
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    108
    Thanks. Can this be done though with the existing installation at /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    Nope, because that's customized for CPanel installs.
    What I typically do for my own servers is tell apache to load /phpmyadmin from a home directory (usually /home/phpmy) which is preconfigured to require proper database logins.

    By doing things this way, you're not giving the user cpanel access, AND you're allowing them to work on the database from phpmyadmin.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by linux-tech View Post
    What I typically do for my own servers is tell apache to load /phpmyadmin from a home directory (usually /home/phpmy) which is preconfigured to require proper database logins.
    What do you mean by this? How do you tell apache that?
    By doing things this way, you're not giving the user cpanel access, AND you're allowing them to work on the database from phpmyadmin.
    Yes, that's what I want

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    Quote Originally Posted by Kadence View Post
    What do you mean by this? How do you tell apache that?
    I call it on the phone, suggest we do dinner, drinks, you know, wine it and dine it. Apache isn't too picky, obviously

    Take a look through the apache configurations (httpd.conf) for samples of how to use redirects, it's pretty straightforward.

    Make sure you've actually got phpmyadmin configured properly first, and make sure you restart httpd afterwords.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cochin
    Posts
    2,446
    Sam
    Supportlobby.com - Expertise in Windows/Linux server support, IaaS and PaaS Management
    Spiralbean.com - Custom Software Development
    Email: exec @ activelobby.net | Skype: unni_active

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by linux-tech View Post
    Take a look through the apache configurations (httpd.conf) for samples of how to use redirects, it's pretty straightforward.

    Make sure you've actually got phpmyadmin configured properly first, and make sure you restart httpd afterwords.
    Well I tried putting this within the cPanel account's VirtualHost and restarting httpd:
    Code:
    Alias /pma /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin
    But then that page (domain.com/pma) said "Existing configuration file (./config.inc.php) is not readable.". I'm also not sure if this is in the direction of what you were talking about.

    I suppose maybe just putting another install of phpmyadmin in the account's public_html might be best after all Seems redundant, but oh well I guess.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Top Secret
    Posts
    11,686
    Like I said, CPanel's phpmyadmin is not going to work for this. I told you that. You need a separate install just for that.

    CPanel's phpmyadmin is managed by cpanel and customized for usage with cpanel ONLY, not outside of it.
    WHMCS Guru - WHMCS addons, management, support and more.
    WHMCS Notifications Extended - Add slack, hipchat, SMS, pushover to WHMCS !!
    Always looking for Linux, WHMCS, Support Desk work. PM for details

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •