hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Problem transfering hard disk
Reply

Forum Jump

Problem transfering hard disk

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2001, 11:34 AM
Ken Ken is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
Hello all.

I've got two 30GB IDE disks (Seagate Barracuda) that were mirrored through Win2K. The problem I have is that I tried transferring one harddisk over to a new server and it can't seem to boot up. I always encounter the "invalid boot device" blue screen. But if I hook it back to the original server, it works like normal. Any ideas on how to work around this? I've been messing with the BIOS, but that doesn't work. I really need help here.




Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-2001, 09:23 PM
Dylan Dylan is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,113
You should ghost the other drive. Not mirror it.

  #3  
Old 03-11-2001, 09:30 PM
cbaker17 cbaker17 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Wichita, Ks, USA
Posts: 1,984
you cant

YOu cant do that, when you mirror a drive you create a uniqe array, if the system can not build that array you can access the information...

__________________
affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
Charles Baker - Company Operations
1-866-316-HOST

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-11-2001, 09:37 PM
Dylan Dylan is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,113
huh? talking to me?

  #5  
Old 03-11-2001, 09:53 PM
akashik akashik is offline
ex-Aussie
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tacoma, Washington
Posts: 9,576
*lol*

Dylan,

No I think Charles was talking to Ken

Greg Moore

__________________
Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

  #6  
Old 03-11-2001, 10:51 PM
cperciva cperciva is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,603
Take a look at /boot.ini. I'm guessing that it is giving the win2k loader the wrong address to try to boot from and changing it will fix the problem.

  #7  
Old 03-11-2001, 11:51 PM
Ken Ken is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
Dylan: Why shouldn't I mirror it? I'm using what came with Win2K. I thought it was pretty ok. Or is there something I don't know about?

Cperciva: Any way to change the boot.ini on the drive I have? I can't seem to get win2k to recognize the drive. It's saying it's unformatted and the like, but there's data in there that I would like to keep.

So, if this is the case, how do I transfer over the harddisks to a new server? The new server is better than the current one, and I want to discard the old server. How now, brown cow?

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
ServInt Upgrades VPS Platform with SolidFire Web Hosting News 2014-01-20 10:42:06
1&1 Internet Adds Scalable Options to Dynamic Cloud Server Web Hosting News 2013-05-01 16:59:53
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – March 1, 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-03-01 16:47:30
Microsoft Acquires Cloud-Integrated Storage Provider StorSimple Web Hosting News 2012-10-16 17:10:45
Cloud Host ElasticHosts Offers SSDs at All Server Instance Sizes Web Hosting News 2012-09-05 13:23:40


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?