Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1

    Question get a DSL line or a cable modem and host the site or my own computer???

    Hi there....

    Can I just get a DSL line or a cable modem and host the site or my own computer?

    thanks for any reply...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    1,487
    Short answer should be - YES. You will need fast and stable connection and also dedicated ip.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    548
    It can be done, technically, but why?

    Are you an expert on Internet security?

    Not worth the electricity.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St. John's, NL
    Posts
    2,082
    It can be done, but most connections (uplink) are too slow for moderate traffic sites. Also, running e-mail is a bit of a hassle, and your IP could change at any time (meaning downtime, usually a few hours, every time it does).

    Personally, I would not even bother with it. You are much better off purchasing a small package from a hosting company.
    Cpanel/WHM PHP Perl Ruby Full Time Support
    LCWSoft - Canada web hosting (based in Newfoundland) since 2007
    Servers based in the US and Canada (Uptime Report)

  5. #5
    I wouldent it would be much cheaper buying hosting than using your own pc wasting electric.
    __________________
    <<signatures are to be set up in your profile>>
    Last edited by bear; 04-18-2008 at 02:12 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    714
    Quote Originally Posted by brookie View Post
    It can be done, technically, but why?

    Are you an expert on Internet security?

    Not worth the electricity.
    Exactly. You can buy a decent hosting package for almost the same price of the electricity costs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St. John's, NL
    Posts
    2,082
    Quote Originally Posted by rustelekom View Post
    Short answer should be - YES. You will need fast and stable connection and also dedicated ip.
    Good luck getting a dedicated IP in Canada or the US In Canada, Rogers and Bell don't offer them for cheap. Same with the US.
    Cpanel/WHM PHP Perl Ruby Full Time Support
    LCWSoft - Canada web hosting (based in Newfoundland) since 2007
    Servers based in the US and Canada (Uptime Report)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    1,487
    heh, i forgot about ARIN here in Europe we have more freedom with ip's. But, for dynamic ip i can recommend no-ip.com. They offer good solution to them who want use domain or subdomain on dynamic ip's.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    11
    yes it can be done
    and for dynamic ip with no-ip
    or
    http://freedns.afraid.org/ (FreeDNS Update) can be used

    I have used freednsupdate to host a 10 ppl CS pub server on my PC but due to latency problem it cud'nt work out (1 mbit uplink)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,734
    It can be done, but if you want something reliable then its probably best to go with a professional web host.

    Home servers can be great for messing around on though and trying things out

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    471
    You can always point mydomain.tld -> CNAME mydomain.dyndns.org -> IP

    but the others are right, the changing dynamic IP will screw up your email.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St. John's, NL
    Posts
    2,082
    Quote Originally Posted by portalgod View Post
    You can always point mydomain.tld -> CNAME mydomain.dyndns.org -> IP

    but the others are right, the changing dynamic IP will screw up your email.
    Especially since it will be more difficult to e-mail anyone using spam filtering and RBLs. Spam filtering systems are much harder on e-mails when they originate from a server using a dynamic IP address.
    Cpanel/WHM PHP Perl Ruby Full Time Support
    LCWSoft - Canada web hosting (based in Newfoundland) since 2007
    Servers based in the US and Canada (Uptime Report)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    There is also the little fact that most ISP's prohibit running a dedicated server through your home internet connection. You can probably get away with it if you want to just play around to see how things work, but for long term, constant traffic, you'll probably end up getting a letter or phone call from your ISP at some point.

    I know some people who do it, but they have business accounts. And, as others have stated, for that cost, you can buy dependability, security and battery-backup in a data center for less money.

  14. #14

    I did it and work fine

    Is possible do it!

    * for dynamic IP use no-ip.com.
    * for email use google apps, (www.google.com/a/) is like gmail account but using your own domain.
    * use it only for host static pages (html+css) with small files.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ferenginar
    Posts
    4,156
    thomaskelly,

    It's possible to host a website on your home connection and you can find instructions here.

    I wouldn't recommend it as it's probably against your ISP's terms of service.

    Web hosting doesn't have to be expensive, RippleHost.com has hosting plans starting at $9.99 per year.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •