Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: NEED OVH SERVER

  1. #1

    Question NEED OVH SERVER

    Hi every body. I m not sure I can ask this question here or not If i m writing against rules i feel sorry for that. i have question like i wanna buy server from http://www.ovh.com but i send them money they return my money because i live in america and they dont sale server to america so is there any way i can buy server from ovh? or any body any resller for ovh? if any body now please help its very urgent thanks

  2. #2
    Please any body can help?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    Why would you expect an answer about such a little known company this quickly at midnight? WHT is not a google replacement.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,478
    If you're so determined to order a server from OVH, why not contact them and ask if there are any US resellers? Also, why is it so important to host with them?

  5. #5
    because i dont wanna host with them i wanna use there server for streaming and they have 1 gb port and unmetred server very cheap and its good for me thats why and i need very urgent i hope u understand what i mean i can contact with them but they have support only in french so i cant understand thats why i m asking here. is that i did some thing wrong?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,478
    No, you haven't done anything wrong. I'm asking so that we can help you choose a host. There are definitely other hosts where you can purchase unmetered bandwidth and a 1gbps port. One that comes to mind is FDC Servers, but there are others. You can also try the dedicated advertising forum.

    Have you also tried a search here?

    If you give us more information on what you're trying to host, perhaps we can give better recommendations.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by getsongz View Post
    because i dont wanna host with them i wanna use there server for streaming and they have 1 gb port and unmetred server very cheap and its good for me thats why and i need very urgent i hope u understand what i mean i can contact with them but they have support only in french so i cant understand thats why i m asking here. is that i did some thing wrong?
    You do realize that you wont be able to use Gbit of transit, right? Bandwidth is expensive, so expect to pay at least $7-$15 per Mbit that you actually use. That is exactly the same for OVH as any other company.
    Powered by Level3, GBLX and AT&T

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    441
    www.dedimove.com is an OVH reseller.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by pixeldawn View Post
    www.dedimove.com is an OVH reseller.
    You are wrong. Dedimove.com is a reseller of dedibox.fr

  10. #10
    [QUOTE=You do realize that you wont be able to use Gbit of transit, right? Bandwidth is expensive, so expect to pay at least $7-$15 per Mbit that you actually use. That is exactly the same for OVH as any other company.
    [/QUOTE]

    thats not relly true. My friend have gbit ovh server for about 100€. He can easy push 30-40MB/S 24/7. No problems with their speed. I had 100/100 server with them and i did use about 12TB/month. And that server did cost me 40€/month

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by crazzop View Post
    thats not relly true. My friend have gbit ovh server for about 100. He can easy push 30-40MB/S 24/7. No problems with their speed. I had 100/100 server with them and i did use about 12TB/month. And that server did cost me 40/month
    That's why they allow customers from specified countries only

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,225
    If I remember correctly, OVH limits traffic to the U.S to 5Mbps right?

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by cheyenne1212 View Post
    If I remember correctly, OVH limits traffic to the U.S to 5Mbps right?
    i think that they did sell servers outside these countrys before and did cap the speed. Now its not capped if you order from ovh.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    1,489
    ovh work perfect with foreign customer. so, returning money look strange for me. did you pay by credit card? they need filled verification form if i am not wrong if you pay be cc. you can pay by wire then they have no big question.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by rustelekom View Post
    ovh work perfect with foreign customer. so, returning money look strange for me. did you pay by credit card? they need filled verification form if i am not wrong if you pay be cc. you can pay by wire then they have no big question.
    They only accept customers from PL. UK. DE and FR

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,108
    Quote Originally Posted by crazzop View Post
    thats not relly true. My friend have gbit ovh server for about 100€. He can easy push 30-40MB/S 24/7. No problems with their speed. I had 100/100 server with them and i did use about 12TB/month. And that server did cost me 40€/month
    don't expect good speeds to US.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by fbyne View Post
    don't expect good speeds to US.
    no thats true. But its hard to get good speed from all providers in

    Eu to US n A

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    895
    Can you not use a proxy? Or do they verify customer details or something?

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Looie View Post
    Can you not use a proxy? Or do they verify customer details or something?
    they dont accept paypal. Only banktransfer or creditcard. They did ask me for passport copy and copy of ex phonebill with my name and adress on.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    1,489
    It's normal for many US DC for international customer. When we purchase dedicated somewhere we always asked for same.

    PS. We are from Russia and we have account on OVH and was used it for purchasing dedicated server. Only reason why we do not continue with them was fact that credit card issued in Russian bank doesn't accepted by their acquiring bank anymore.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  21. #21
    we got same problem here. they charge and refund back within 1 h after order,then we try to call them but nobody on the phone so we , email - tickets > they sent us to ovh.co.uk where on their agreement allow only UK Customers to buy , so you need to be from France Spain or UK to get a OVH server from them.
    TouchVPS Support Managed Support for Unmanaged VPS/Servers
    Email: sales@touchvps.eu

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by rustelekom View Post
    It's normal for many US DC for international customer. When we purchase dedicated somewhere we always asked for same.

    PS. We are from Russia and we have account on OVH and was used it for purchasing dedicated server. Only reason why we do not continue with them was fact that credit card issued in Russian bank doesn't accepted by their acquiring bank anymore.

    Thats not the same. Ovh dont rent servers to poeple outside thous countrys.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    1,489
    Hmm, may be something changed at them. Last order what we made under them was 2 years ago.
    Well, i just open ticket under them with question about international order. Let's see what they will reply (Please be patience - sales and very common question usually replied not too quick).
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  24. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by rustelekom View Post
    Hmm, may be something changed at them. Last order what we made under them was 2 years ago.
    Well, i just open ticket under them with question about international order. Let's see what they will reply (Please be patience - sales and very common question usually replied not too quick).
    I have done that and they just tell you that they dont accept costumers outside thouse countrys

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    APE: 6202A
    Posts
    1,273
    Yes, they only sell servers to mainland's customers...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •