Help me figure out what I need (please?)

I'm a developer and currently most of my web projects focus on stuff like php, mysql, postgres and various GIS technologies. My immediate need is to host a site for a moderately complex (from a technical standpoint) Google API based site. The traffic for the site would be very low as it's for mostly internal use by my clients. It will be serving up dynamic maps with multiple overlays and filters.

It's possible that in the future I will need to add mapserver (a cgi application) and php mapscript applications to the server but at this point I could skip if I had to.

My problem is this: what kind of web host should I be looking for. In the past I've just run my own dev servers internally and set up intranet servers for clients for internal applications but in this case we really need the external server (both for Google's API to work and for usability issues). I know my bandwidth requirements will be pretty low and my disk space should be around 500mb per project. There would be a fair bit of mysql activity for each page visit and having Geospatial columns in mysql or postgres would be a requirement. Do you think I can manage this on a shared host? It looks to me like if I went to VPS I would be spending $30+/month to support just apache, database server and php. ANy input would be appreciated - I'm sort of spoiled by having dedicated intranet servers in the past.

it depends on how much cpu usage/ram usage you think these scripts will use, if they are low cpu eating scripts then most hosts will be able to host you

But if they eat lots of cpu your host will ask you to upgrade to a vps package or dedicated.
    Master Reseller Accounts
    Shared Hosting
    VPS hosting
    ToastHosts.com support{at}toasthosts.com

Hi,