Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45

    Question How to tell how many sites on one server?

    Is there a way to tell how many, and the domain names, of all the sites assigned to one server or IP address on a shared hosting server? When I do a lookup on my server's IP address, it only points back to my hosting company. If I ping my domain, I get my IP address, so it seems reasonable that there's probably a way to find this out. I thought I had seen a post here about this, but searched for quite awhile, and couldn't find it.

    I noticed my server's CPanel CPU Service Status went from about .4 (green) to 1.6 (red), and has pretty much stayed there the last few hours. It indicates it's a 1 CPU server. I was curious how many sites there were, and even what they were, to see if I could determine who or why the server usage is spiking.

    I'm trying to learn more about hosting, and was curious about this aspect of shared hosting. I'm also looking for a way to throttle my own site to avoid causing a spike on my server. Does anyone know of a way I can ensure that my CPU usage does not exceed a predetermined amount so my hosting company won't pull the plug? Would throttling the bandwidth be possible, and perhaps a way to achieve that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lake Arrowhead, CA
    Posts
    789
    The only reliable statistics would be from the host.

    People will probably give you links to a bunch of whois/dns sites (such as domaintools.com), but it's not really much good for what you're asking. Even if you could have an accurate picture of the number of domains on a server (which you can't), that doesn't tell you how many ACCOUNTS are on a server. Thousands of parked domains may not have any affect on CPU usage whereas a single script on a 'domain less' account could easily overload a single CPU server.
    http://www.srohosting.com
    Stability, redundancy and peace of mind

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lake Arrowhead, CA
    Posts
    789
    As for throttling your own scripts, there are numerous ways to do this, but they would generally be dependent on what the rest of the script is doing. I write resource management into backup scripts by checking the server load average before, during and after a backup operation and setting execution priority and/or deferring backups based on those numbers.

  4. #4
    As stated above, although not entirely accurate, onsamehost.com has been most useful in the past.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    136
    Do you have a shell account? You could try accessing the default locations of the httpd.conf and/or named.conf, that is if they haven't secured access. If they're particularly bad, you could probably traverse the other user's home directories and look that way.
    Matt Bloom
    AngryHosting - Load balanced/redundant shared hosting solutions

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Goleta, CA
    Posts
    5,550
    Most accurate way would be to hack/crack/backdoor your way in and analyze the webserver configuration. Not a very wise thing to do though.
    Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
    Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
    Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
    Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    265
    Ok, lets not give people ideas that could lead to lawyers getting involved
    Master Reseller Accounts
    Shared Hosting
    VPS hosting
    ToastHosts.com support{at}toasthosts.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben James View Post
    Ok, lets not give people ideas that could lead to lawyers getting involved
    Definitely! Especially since I'd be as dangerous as a monkey with a pistol.

    I'm not running anything that would generate cpu burden. In fact, I don't think I'm allowed to run server-side processes, unless scripts don't fall into this limitations. I just don't want my site getting hammered, or hot-linked or leeched and cause trouble. I just thought it would be good if I could ensure that my site doesn't cause me, or others, any problems.

    I haven't found anything through CPanel that seems useful. Perhaps when I learn a little more, I can create something to monitor the CPU and maybe perform some action that will accomplish what I need.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    You're worried about a server load of 1.6??? How's the server's performance? Do you notice any slowdowns, etc.?

    Cpanel's blinky red "lights" can be set to any number. We generally set ours to "5" (we run quad cores). Your host simply hasn't changed the default number, so it goes red whenever it goes over '1'.

    1. The information you get from the blinky red light is meaningless.

    2. The information you will get from any source claiming to tell you how many accounts are on the server will be meaningless.

    3. Even if you DID manage to find out the number of accounts on the server, THAT information would be meaningless by itself.

    Why not just shoot your host a quick email and ask them to explain?

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  10. #10
    Maybe you can try myipneighbors.com - This is a domain IP check tool for shared hosting, you can get a list of your neighbors are in your hosting company.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Quote Originally Posted by kluang View Post
    Maybe you can try myipneighbors.com - This is a domain IP check tool for shared hosting, you can get a list of your neighbors are in your hosting company.
    The information you gather there is completely useless. It does not tell you accurately how many accounts are on a server.


    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by AH-Tina View Post
    The information you gather there is completely useless. It does not tell you accurately how many accounts are on a server.


    --Tina
    You will get the total number of domain/website which found in same ip address

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Quote Originally Posted by kluang View Post
    You will get the total number of domain/website which found in same ip address
    What good is that information? It still doesn't tell you anything useful.

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by AH-Tina View Post
    What good is that information? It still doesn't tell you anything useful.

    --Tina
    At least, you can get how many domain hosted in same server , if more than hundred site in one server it will definitely slow down the server performance and it will affect your website loading speed

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,686
    It doesn't even do that properly - Its reporting that one of our servers has 29 domains hosted... That's nowhere near right.
    EZPZ Hosting - Dependable and Affordable Web Hosting
    LiteSpeed SSD Powered cPanel Shared & Reseller Hosting | Budget VPS, Managed VPS and Dedicated
    Reseller Hosting Specialists | WHMCS-Based End User Support | Unlimited SSLs | UK and USA
    99.9% Uptime Guarantee | 24/7 Support | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by kluang View Post
    At least, you can get how many domain hosted in same server , if more than hundred site in one server it will definitely slow down the server performance and it will affect your website loading speed
    Are you positive? I've got ~1500 domains and they're all going to show that they're from the same IP.
    Matt Bloom
    AngryHosting - Load balanced/redundant shared hosting solutions

  17. #17
    according to that I am the only one on my shared server, reality is there are many others who have a dedicated ip as well
    Technical Advisor for new A&E Series The Killing Season
    There are no random acts of violence
    Starts November 5th!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Quote Originally Posted by kluang View Post
    At least, you can get how many domain hosted in same server , if more than hundred site in one server it will definitely slow down the server performance and it will affect your website loading speed

    That's ridiculous. We have one server that has 800 domains hosted on it and it's average load is less than 1. Why? Because most of them are parked domains and the server is a Dual Opteron with 16 GB RAM.

    Further, we have one server that has ONE domain hosted on it...and they are constantly having load issues (I wish they'd agree to upgrade).

    Knowing how many IPs are pointed to a single server is useless information.

    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    I understand the points made by all. The answer about my CPanel showing some arbitrary alert level makes more sense than anything else. I was thinking if someone was running an FPS or some other heavy processor site, maybe they were causing issues.

    But, most of all, I was just curious if it was possible.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas, where else?
    Posts
    1,571

    Cool

    cPanels little warnings are a tool and like all tools have to be interpreted. (and in this case they aren't terribly indicative of any particular thing and not 100% accurate at all)
    Normally in cPanel people who are "low tolerance" set a load of 1 per core. So dual core 2.0, quad core 4.0 dual quad 8.0 etc.

    But I know may people who run at 5 on cPanel and that's just "normal" they worry if it goes over that. A LOT has to do with what's causing the loads and what the settings for the server are. If it's a older Celeron with 1GB RAM then 1.6 is probably pushing it. If it's a pretty heavy duty machine and you site is responding fast as ever it's no cause for concern.

    The thing to watch is your actual performance on a normal basis. If it's taking forever for you to edit some files and FTP or download your mail or whatever (sometimes is fast-other times it crawls) then you may need to ask to be on another box. That one may be pushing it for whatever reason.
    But also consider the time zone where the server is located since most hosts set heavy "load" jobs like crons for updates or backups or refreshing stats or whatever, in the "wee hours" when the fewest users are on-line. Now if for your location that time is when you are normally doing stuff with your account (like you are in UK or Hawaii and server is on 4 or 5 hours difference) you can expect heavy loads to be normal (and cPanel "blinky" reds)

    On the original topic most people I know get somewhere between 200-300 "accounts" (not sites) are about average for "average" boxes... but that's "average" meaning there is as many above as below that.
    Last edited by DDT; 04-15-2008 at 07:46 PM.
    New Idea Hosting NO Overselling-Business-Grade, Shared Only! New-In House Design Team.
    High Speed & Uptime; , DIY Pro-Site Builder-Daily Backups-Custom Plans, All Dual Xeon Quad Intel servers w/ ECC DDR3 RAM SCSI RAID minimums.
    We Concentrate on Shared Hosting ...doing one thing and doing it VERY well

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    84

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midcoast Maine
    Posts
    306
    Actually, to answer the OP, there is one site you can check for who is hosted on a server. Just Google for "You Get Signal" and choose their online Reverse IP Domain Check. It works a little different from most, as it's specific to locating who is on the same shared host.
    Sue

    A generation which ignores history has no past and no future. --Lazarus Long

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by BristolSue View Post
    Actually, to answer the OP, there is one site you can check for who is hosted on a server. Just Google for "You Get Signal" and choose their online Reverse IP Domain Check. It works a little different from most, as it's specific to locating who is on the same shared host.

    Hello ,

    you give the correct answer .

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Sometimes I wish I didn't care so much.

    *sigh*

    --Tina

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2,612
    The program you could get from hostsentry worked pretty good for telling you how many sites are on a server but you haver to have an account with the host you want to look at.

  26. #26
    There is no true way in finding out the exact amount of accounts on a single server, besides asking the host.

    Of course, they could always lie to you.
    HydraHost Internet LTD
    Providing 100% uptime for the last 18 months.
    Quality affordable hosting. Hosting the UK and beyond!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    289
    Cool, the free version of domaintools'.
    Quote Originally Posted by BristolSue View Post
    Actually, to answer the OP, there is one site you can check for who is hosted on a server. Just Google for "You Get Signal" and choose their online Reverse IP Domain Check. It works a little different from most, as it's specific to locating who is on the same shared host.

  28. #28
    I know one thing. When you are on a shared server and the server load is at 84 to 129 with dual quad core CPU's, chit isn't going happen fast. Then I do know there are way too many accounts on a server.


  29. #29
    Quote Originally Posted by BristolSue View Post
    Actually, to answer the OP, there is one site you can check for who is hosted on a server. Just Google for "You Get Signal" and choose their online Reverse IP Domain Check. It works a little different from most, as it's specific to locating who is on the same shared host.

    Looks like the exact same script somebody has already given a url for.

    This tool is worthless as is any tool that relies on searching the IP. Using this tool I am still the only person on my shared server. Go ahead, try it with the url in my sig.
    Technical Advisor for new A&E Series The Killing Season
    There are no random acts of violence
    Starts November 5th!

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Midcoast Maine
    Posts
    306
    Quote Originally Posted by AHFB HTML View Post
    Looks like the exact same script somebody has already given a url for.

    This tool is worthless as is any tool that relies on searching the IP. Using this tool I am still the only person on my shared server. Go ahead, try it with the url in my sig.
    Just a note that some servers do block this tool. I used it on my previous host (namecheaphosting), got 165 sites the first time, including some that were porn. After that it was unable to connect so I assume they blocked it via their firewall. It works on most, though.
    Last edited by BristolSue; 04-18-2008 at 11:53 AM. Reason: parentheses in wrong place
    Sue

    A generation which ignores history has no past and no future. --Lazarus Long

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    9,675
    Quote Originally Posted by BristolSue View Post
    It works on most, though.

    Stop saying that it works...it doesn't. It is not an accurate tool at all. You might as well take a wild guess and you'd have about as much chance of being right.

    Let me say this one more time, so that maybe it will sink it for some people who keep posting that URL:

    IT DOES NOT WORK - YOU WILL GET INACCURATE RESULTS - YOU WON'T KNOW IF THE NUMBER GIVEN IS EVEN IN THE BALL PARK. THE DATA IS TOTALLY USELESS FOR ANY KIND OF REASONABLE DECISION MAKING PROCESS.

    This not only applies to this tool, but any other that claims to know how many or reasonably close to how many accounts are on a server. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get that information without having root access to the server.


    --Tina
    ||| 99.999% Uptime SLA!!!
    Plenty of space and bandwidth to fit your needs!
    www.AEIandYou.com - - (WP Friendly - Premium Reseller Hosting and Cheap Dedicated Servers)

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    242
    Tina has it spot on.

    So, you use one of these "checks" and it reports 562 (random figure) sites/domains on that server.

    How much wiser are you now?, how do you know that 561 of those are not parked domains leaving just 1 active website on the server?

    Unless the server owner/admin feels like handing out this information the only way you will know is with root access, no ifs or buts.

  33. #33
    Quote Originally Posted by BristolSue View Post
    Just a note that some servers do block this tool. I used it on my previous host (namecheaphosting), got 165 sites the first time, including some that were porn. After that it was unable to connect so I assume they blocked it via their firewall. It works on most, though.
    It does not work on most.

    It works on the assumption of 1 ip per server and that all domains are actual sites. This is a ballsy assumption that may come true 1 in 1000 times.

    The inaccurate numbers have nothing to do with the firewall.
    Technical Advisor for new A&E Series The Killing Season
    There are no random acts of violence
    Starts November 5th!

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,734
    Best bet is just to ask the particular host, unless they are hiding something they should have no problem with telling you

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by AH-Tina View Post
    Stop saying that it works...it doesn't. It is not an accurate tool at all. You might as well take a wild guess and you'd have about as much chance of being right.

    Let me say this one more time, so that maybe it will sink it for some people who keep posting that URL:

    IT DOES NOT WORK - YOU WILL GET INACCURATE RESULTS - YOU WON'T KNOW IF THE NUMBER GIVEN IS EVEN IN THE BALL PARK. THE DATA IS TOTALLY USELESS FOR ANY KIND OF REASONABLE DECISION MAKING PROCESS.

    This not only applies to this tool, but any other that claims to know how many or reasonably close to how many accounts are on a server. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get that information without having root access to the server.


    --Tina
    I majored in Physics, so I know that gathering data, and drawing realistic conclusions from it are two entirely different things. I will say that You Get Signal's tool does dish up some interesting, albeit dubious information. For instance, for my IP address, it indicated different numbers of sites at times, and when it was consistent, it stopped at exactly 100 sites max every time. And, my site wasn't even listed! Nor were any sub-domains (but that's another story).

    I think the answer to my original question then, is 'NO'. I accept that. However, this thread has generated some good discussion, and some interesting tools. I know I understand a lot more about the situation I originally asked about.

    The scientist who first used the term 'canali' to describe what he saw on Mars had his observations very quickly touted as undeniable proof that intelligent life MUST exist on Mars. Maybe it does, or maybe it doesn't... but the point is, we have to be careful of the conclusions we draw from what we see.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •