what kind of resources does a typical webhost need?

Lets say I host a good 20 sites using 100GB of bandwidth each per month. (forums, cmses etc)

What kind of resources would that need in average? would 1GB of ram cut it?

I'm working on merging my hosting and my game server unto same server. The game server VM has been setup but I noticed with it running, the server load average is sitting at nearly 1.0. So would that cripple hosting?

A load average of 1.0 is not high, or unreasonable.

Lets say I host a good 20 sites using 100GB of bandwidth each per month. (forums, cmses etc)
    I'm no expert but 20 sites with 100GB each amounts to 2GB of traffic that is mostly MySQL powered (forum, CMS, right?). This really seems a lot even for a powerful dedicated server, let alone for one split between gaming and hosting.

And I don't even think it's ok to put gaming and hosting on the same server.

A load of 1 is not high (especially if you have multiple cores) but when you will bring 20 x 100GB MySQL traffic on it, the load will not stay at 1. What machine do you have anyway?

You will need to look at the spec of your machine, and what resources the sites actually take up. ie. Do the sites have lots of customisation? (these increase the load on the server).

I would say though that merging a game server and web server isn't necessarily a good thing. For example, if one of the sites you host feature on Digg or Slashdot etc, it'll severely affect the game performance.
    Regards,
    Leigh

Host High - reliable UK hosting

The requirements for gameservers and webhosting servers are different, it's not a very good idea having them both run on the same machine. However, on a very powerful setup, you could get away with it.
    Afterburst - the best unmetered VPS - read why here!