Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Exclamation Phpmyadmin Won't Dump File!

    Hi, I went into a sql db and tryed to dump the data & structure or w/e and it acts like it is loading and just goes to a blank screen. When I try the same thing on my smaller db it does it fine, but since this one is 120mb is that why it is messing up? If so how do I fix it.

    -Aaron-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,903
    PHP has a timeout limit on scripts... Smaller databases won't timeout before the dump..

    But with larger databaes, you need to dump those via shell...
    -Mat

  3. #3
    Oh... I see :-) how do I go about doing that because I do have shell access.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,256
    Unless you have control of the server (i.e. root) you'll never be able to load a 120m dump with phpmyadmin (and I would not try). You're going to run into two issues.

    1: The default max upload size for php is 2 meg. This would need to be increased for your load to work.

    2: The default execution time for a php script is 30 seconds. A 120 meg dump won't load in 30 seconds.

    You can create a very simple php page to show all the info:

    <?php phpinfo(); ?>

    I'd suggest uploading the file to the server and loading with command line mysql:

    mysqldump -u db-user -p database-name > dump-file

    db-user = database user id
    database-name = the database you are trying to load
    dump-file = the dump file

    [edit]sorry it was a dump not load[/edit]
    Frank
    Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation
    UmbraHosting.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    4,903
    And if you want to dump a database to file:

    mysqldump -uUser -p database > /path/to/file.sql
    -Mat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,616
    You can segment the dump in phpMyAdmin - just select a few tables at once (rather than all of them) then put all the outputs into one file to keep them all together.
    Clook Internet
    UK based web hosting, reseller accounts and fully managed dedicated and virtual servers! In our 12th year and counting...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chandler, Arizona
    Posts
    2,564
    if you dont want to use a file you can just dump it with php select it all and copy and paste. ez as that IMHO
    -Robert Norton
    www.SophMedia.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,263
    Ill give you a perl script to run from the command line to do that if you want
    Avi Brender
    Reliable Web Hosting by Elite Hosts, Inc
    CPANEL Reseller Hosting - Fantastico - Rvskins - ClientExec

  9. #9
    I would love that if you could give it to me send it to sales@silicon-edge.com

    -Aaron-

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,263
    Watchin TV Ill send it off soon - hope you have DBI installed (most likely do)
    Avi Brender
    Reliable Web Hosting by Elite Hosts, Inc
    CPANEL Reseller Hosting - Fantastico - Rvskins - ClientExec

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    580
    damn, no ssh access.. that sux...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,263
    oh, well any web program dumping alot of data will time out as your host to run it for you?
    Avi Brender
    Reliable Web Hosting by Elite Hosts, Inc
    CPANEL Reseller Hosting - Fantastico - Rvskins - ClientExec

  13. #13
    Iīve noticed some troubles with some PHPMyAdmin versions when it comes to downloading dumps. Try to write them to screen and copy paste into a text editor. If this also fails, itīs simply that you have to much data to do a web dump with the timeout setting you have.

    Regards,
    Clarence Eldefors
    http://cerebustools.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,263
    Solution

    Perl script:

    #!/usr/bin/perl

    print "content-type:text/html\n\n";

    system("perl /path/to/dumpfile/i/sent/you.pl > out.txt &");

    print "DONE";


    RUn that script from a browser and it should execute the dump.pl file i sent you as if you were at the command prompt
    Avi Brender
    Reliable Web Hosting by Elite Hosts, Inc
    CPANEL Reseller Hosting - Fantastico - Rvskins - ClientExec

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •