Clustered Storage

Does anyone know of a good reliable and redundant method of organizing clustered storage? I know that IBM has GPFS - has anyone actually used it? Do they charge a crap load for it? Any alternatives?

I heard good things about http://www.redhat.com/gfs/ .. I have not used it though. I have been using lustre for 4 months .. Actually, I'm doing a research on it for my professor. it is a pain and takes much of time to be installed .. I had to patch the kernel , build it , install the lustre and solve many problems before I get it to work .

what are you going to use it for ?

I am hoping to create a large backup network - nothing very intensive, just rsyncs and such.

GFS is quite good

GFS would be quite good for your needs

Blackhawki,

for a backup purpose .. I used NFS and it is perfect for my needs. I actually created ~5TB on NAS ( 2 X 160 SATA with RAID 1 for OS and 1 X 500 GB RAID 5 for the storage ) , export it and mount it on each server that I want to backup. It works just fine.

You have to read about NFS security in NFS project homepage and do little test to get the best performance ( read and write ) out of it. It is well documented on their website.

The good thing about NFS is that you can mount it on varies OS's ( Mac, Win and *nix as well). Furthermore, It is simple to use and doesn't require a lot of work to be installed and ready to go.

The only thing that I want to advise you is to change the label of your RAID5 array ( if you are going to use it or the large device if used LVM to create one ) to *gpt*. In addition , when you create the FS ( ext3 is good), make biggest block size possible ( -b 4096 ) and if you are going to filling it with large file i.e > 100 MB use one inode per 4 megabytes ( -T largefile4 ). Furthermore, if your setup will be like mine ( the OS in another partition ) , use -m 0 to change the reserved block percentage for the root user from 5% to 0% .. 5% was a lot in my situation ( ~256GB) ..

ximi ,