Slicing image in photoshop.... am I doing it right?

I have a site design as a PSD in photoshop right now and I need to slice it so that it can be placed into HTML. My designer wants to charge me 50 euros ($78) to slice it and then place it into HTML.

But to try to save some money I went into photoshop to see if I could figure out how to slice it myself (as I have never done it before) and it seems like it's VERY easy! And photoshop even puts it into HTML for you after slicing, amazing! I didn't even know it could do that

My question is... is it really this easy? Right now I am manually selecting each area to be sliced (isn't there some guide of guide I can use because this free handed slicing makes me feel like I'm making errors... I selected to view the "smart guides" but that doesn't show up).... I hope that photoshop's generated HTML can be trusted and that I won't cause any errors by doing it myself?

Anybody know of some good tips when slicing or am I already doing it correctly? Thanks.

My question is... is it really this easy?
    I suppose it depends on how important it is that the end product be high quality. If the quality of the engineering isn't important (if you're not concerned with usability, accessibility, search engine friendliness, load speed, data transfer consumption, design falling apart due to end user browser settings, etc.), then it really is that easy! If any of the aforementioned concerns are important to you, then you're going to disappointed in the quality of the end product. The biggest downside is that you generally won't see just how bad the end result of Photoshop slicing is until you've invested a ton of time into building your site using the markup that gets generated, and possibly until you've actually launched the site. If your designer is more adept at coding work, then pay the $78. If your designer was just going to do the same thing, then save yourself $78 - why pay for a bad result when you can get it for free?