Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405

    need pdu recommendations

    I need recommendations on SNMP pdu's. I am looking at Baytech now and maybe APC.

    What are my other options that you have had good experience with. It has to have SNMP support that is a requirement.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Savage, MN
    Posts
    220
    Ditto on that - especially ones that also have an integrated ATS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    anyone else. What pdu's do you use in your racks?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    490
    It depends on what you are using, if you have a cabinet then I suggest the APC AP7930 -- Good price for what you get, high quality APC however I'm not exactly sure if it has SNMP, it does support remote reboot, etc.
    VEXXHOST, Inc.
    Secure & Reliable Hosting Solutions for Developers & Enterprises
    High Performance OpenStack® Public Cloud | Cloud Servers | Web Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    let me give more detail. I need the pdu to mount in a rack.

    I need to be able to manage all the ports individually. I need to be able to turn on/off and reboot all ports and shut off ports I am not using. I need to be able to do this via a network management connection.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    We use the APC AP7930 series for all of our racks, and they're great. They do support SNMP.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    ok thanks I was looking at an APC model. I will check out the 7930 since I have 2 users that have offered that now.

    Anything else from anyone? What about tripplite?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,889
    APC, hands down.

    We've had more issues with fewer BayTech units, ports dieing, etc. With the APCs the only issue we've had is one that didn't configure properly initially and we needed to reload it and then one that had the SNMP side fail and needed to be rebooted. Those are all the failures I can think of, and we currently have 100+ of them in our data center and have been using them for a couple years now. I recommend them highly. Anything in the APC AP79xx series is great.
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    Ok who is the best place to get the APC units from? I am looking for the best price.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    Best price I have seen so far for the 7900 is $386.00 or so without shipping.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    47
    +1 to APC if you need SNMP, if not there are a number of less expensive choices. we even have one from dell
    [URL="http://www.careermarketplace.com"]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    Quote Originally Posted by WickedShark View Post
    Ok who is the best place to get the APC units from? I am looking for the best price.
    We usually get our APC gear from Provantage. I'm not sure how they do it, but their prices are always significantly better than other companies.

    http://www.provantage.com/
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    Thanks for the information on provantage.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    962
    Once you get your quote from Provantage, get an account at CDW.com, and get assigned an account rep. CDW will beat Provantage's prices, I've never had Provantage underprice CDW. The real secret is CDW way overcharges on shipping, and if you tell them they need to cut their shipping prices to be competitive, they practically make shipping free.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    Quote Originally Posted by mhalligan View Post
    Once you get your quote from Provantage, get an account at CDW.com, and get assigned an account rep. CDW will beat Provantage's prices, I've never had Provantage underprice CDW. The real secret is CDW way overcharges on shipping, and if you tell them they need to cut their shipping prices to be competitive, they practically make shipping free.
    Good tip there, thanks ! We have bought many of the APC units from Provantage.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    good information Dimension4. I will create an account at CDW as see what happens.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •