Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Specs for a dedicated gaming server?

    I am looking to get a dedicated gaming server, for at least 4 32-player, 66-ticket rate Source servers. I have no idea what kind of power, port, or bandwidth I would need for a server that could handle the above, because I am just currently renting from a game-server provider. It would be only be an added benefit if it had enough power for a 25 slot vent server and web hosting.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    325
    Im running 4 game servers (2x 32slots and 2x 48 slots) on my

    Core2Duo XEON 2.0Ghz
    4GB Ram
    2x250GB SataII HD
    2500GB on 100mbps (Level3) bandwidth.

    + 42slots TeamSpeak, 3 Websites with forums, email server, DNS and FTP

    have absolutely no problems...
    Last edited by ShyGuy82; 04-06-2008 at 09:41 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    360
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Xenu View Post
    I am looking to get a dedicated gaming server, for at least 4 32-player, 66-ticket rate Source servers. I have no idea what kind of power, port, or bandwidth I would need for a server that could handle the above, because I am just currently renting from a game-server provider. It would be only be an added benefit if it had enough power for a 25 slot vent server and web hosting.

    Thanks.
    What kind of budget are you working with? Also consider you need to obtain a Vent license before you're allowed to host them on your own.

    The machine ShyGuy82 is using should be ample for what you're looking for though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    325
    I just wanted to add: make sure you get a hosting provider that has Premium Tier1 provider base (no Cogent). It's not that cogent is bad, its just it is highly oversold...you will get lots of lag on it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    48
    Cogent cannot be used for gaming.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,877
    I'd recommend that you find a dedicated server provider that specializes in machines for game server hosting. Take a look at ColoCrossing.com - they should be able to help you out!
    XeHost.net - Hosting websites since 1999!
    Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
    End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller Available on Reseller Plans!
    Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost

  7. #7
    what type of control panel are using for your Game Servers ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo NY
    Posts
    360
    If you're using Windows for an OS, I suggest TCAdmin.
    Brian F. - Operations Manager
    Quality Shared and VPS Hosting
    Hawk Host Inc. Proudly serving websites since 2004

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    325
    I use my own...wrote it in .NET

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    820
    I'm running a MMO server, only average of 20 online though but even during peak times where it hits over 30 online with a couple guilds doing bosses, network usage and cpu barely move. Using a P4 with 2GB of ram and IDE drive. Nothing too fancy.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ShyGuy82 View Post
    Im running 4 game servers (2x 32slots and 2x 48 slots) on my

    Core2Duo XEON 2.0Ghz
    4GB Ram
    2x250GB SataII HD
    2500GB on 100mbps (Level3) bandwidth.

    + 42slots TeamSpeak, 3 Websites with forums, email server, DNS and FTP

    have absolutely no problems...
    hmm, are you sure it's wise to do this? I mean what if spam assassin kicks in during gaming peak hours. For sure, that would have to diminish performance.

    I am running on a 2.4GHz quad xeon with 8MB Cache,
    4GB Ram (800Mhz)
    Maximum players on the servers were around 60 in mixed cs 1.6 cs source environment, the total CPU load was 10% or less.

    For what you are asking, I think even a dual-core core2duo with 2Ghz+ and 2 Gigs of Ram would suit fine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    334
    Quote Originally Posted by torqhost View Post
    hmm, are you sure it's wise to do this? I mean what if spam assassin kicks in during gaming peak hours.
    You can always disable spam assassin or restrict the number of child processes.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    18
    Well,

    First off -- you won't be able to run Ventrilo on there @ 25 slots, since that's quite a bit above the maximum number of clients that can connect on the free server. You'll still need to rent your Ventrilo server from elsewhere.

    Now, assuming that's Counter-Strikeource and not Team Fortress 2, I think you'll be OK with a Core 2 Duo -- though I would suggest doing a Core 2 Quad and keeping each server on it's own processor core -- especially if this is Team Fortress 2. In terms of bandwidth... if this is in the states, I'd personally recommend renting or collocating a server with a company that uses either Mzima or Internap (or both).

    I'd also recommend leaving web hosting off the machine -- as someone else suggested -- if something starts running statistics, or some kind of cronjob that eats up resources for a short duration -- you could run into problems. I'd recommend just purchasing web hosting from else where -- could do that pretty cheaply.
    Brett G. ** www.darkstarllc.com
    DarkStar Communications ** Ventrilo ** Game Servers ** TeamSpeak ** Reseller Accounts

  14. #14
    You must also factor in the event on a full load, that server will easily consume all the bandwidth unless you reduce your rates. As Brett mentioned, with cs and tf2 + the amount of servers you are planning on running, a core2duo would just about be OK but it won't be on a full load I can almost guarantee you that much. A quad would be more suitable to spread the load but again, pay attention to bandwidth.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Xenu View Post
    I am looking to get a dedicated gaming server, for at least 4 32-player, 66-ticket rate Source servers. I have no idea what kind of power, port, or bandwidth I would need for a server that could handle the above, because I am just currently renting from a game-server provider. It would be only be an added benefit if it had enough power for a 25 slot vent server and web hosting.

    Thanks.
    Do you have a preference on location? Specs vary based on the market, and specific providers that are within them.

    Generally, if you're looking for a central US server, you'd want Chicago or Dallas, out west you're looking at Seattle or LA, and out east take a peak at New York/New Jersey or Atlanta.

    Since you're looking for a Ventrilo greater than 8 slots in size, you will need to look to an external provider that is licensed to host Flagship's product. For excellent quality and support, you can try: www.darkstarllc.com

    Lastly, in regards to the webhosting, it's advisable to pickup a small shared hosting account from that would be hosted on a separate server. It can be done on the same machine, but I would highly not recommend you doing so for a variety of reasons, including performance and security.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianFarrell View Post
    What kind of budget are you working with? Also consider you need to obtain a Vent license before you're allowed to host them on your own.

    The machine ShyGuy82 is using should be ample for what you're looking for though.
    Just to clarify this a bit more. Brett touched on it, but just so you're aware OP.....

    Vent licenses are only licensed to registered and established businesses, at the current time, Flagship hasn't acquired new hosts in a while. There's no reason to attempt to obtain a license for a 25 vent slot server for yourself; they'll dump it and move on.

    Also, you CAN host a free 8 slot vent server using the executables located @ www.ventrilo.com, however the max slots are LOCKED at 8 slots, meaning to achieve the 25 slots, you need to look at an authorized provider.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dublin, California
    Posts
    238
    I believe that the OP has left WHT for the meantime as he/she has not been active since the 6th of April. Therefore, there would be no point in continuing this thread to help the OP as he/she cannot answer the questions that many of you have asked.

  18. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •