Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ram Issues?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984

    Ram Issues?

    A dedicated server client of mine was telling me that his mysql was corrupted frequently and when his admin tried to upgrade his php and mysql he faced segmentation error. His admin was saying that this was a RAM problem. Is it possible? Frankly in 11 years of hosting I had not heard of such. If not what could possibly cause the segmentation errors?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    In my experience, when a server starts segmentation faulting when compiling applications it usually is a bad stick of RAM. I've had this happen many times and replacing all of the sticks of RAM resolved the problem.

    Why replace all of the sticks of RAM? If it's a production server, it's not always feasible to spend an hour or so testing each individual stick of RAM... it just makes more sense to replace them all in one go, and test the previous RAM "offline" so to speak.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cochin
    Posts
    2,446
    It always suggested to complete a memory test as this problem has arisen. And the guys at noc can do this for you
    Sam
    Supportlobby.com - Expertise in Windows/Linux server support, IaaS and PaaS Management
    Spiralbean.com - Custom Software Development
    Email: exec @ activelobby.net | Skype: unni_active

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    731
    Hmm... 11 years, that's odd that you are not familiar with this problem. Probably you're not a technician?

    Anyway, I bought a Nocster server few months back for my own use. The same segmentation problem was faced and failed the memtest.

    When I brought this issue to Nocster, they just changed a new RAM for me and the problem is gone.

    I'm afraid your client's sysadmin is right on the RAM's fault

    Cheers.
    SecureAX Singapore - Virtualization, Private Cloud Computing & Managed Datacenter in Singapore
    - Managed Virtual Private Servers, Dedicated Servers & Colocation Services in Singapore
    - Gigabit backbone at Equinix Singapore, M1 & Telin Datacenters with Private Link for Disaster Recovery setup

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    47
    If you have IP-KVM switched to your server, then you can run memtest yourself. Otherwise you need to have your NOC technicians to run it for you. If memtest fails, then the problem is with your RAM and it needs to be replaced.
    GlowHost.com - Your fully managed, dedicated server specialists.
    >> FFmpeg Web Hosting - Video Sharing and Social Networking web sites
    >>> SHOUTcast Servers - 128k - Unlimited Users - Radio Control Panel
    >>>> 99.9% Uptime Guarantee - 60 day risk free money back - 24/7/365 Support

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    Thanks, guess I will have to ask for a change of RAM, but maybe I am lucky this is the first time I met such a problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cochin
    Posts
    2,446
    Quote Originally Posted by boonchuan View Post
    Thanks, guess I will have to ask for a change of RAM, but maybe I am lucky this is the first time I met such a problem.
    Indeed you are . But believe me, this is a very common issue and i have faced this issue at least 20 times in my career phase of 5 years .

    good luck boonchuan
    Sam
    Supportlobby.com - Expertise in Windows/Linux server support, IaaS and PaaS Management
    Spiralbean.com - Custom Software Development
    Email: exec @ activelobby.net | Skype: unni_active

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •