Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 65
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    30

    cPanel VPS optimized - anyone upgraded yet?

    If you take the plunge and upgrade or are running EDGE builds, please post your experiences with it.

    I'm not going to run it until some feedback starts coming out ...


    Cheers

  2. #2
    I have it on a few of our vps. It seems faster and uses less memory.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    995
    Seems running fine here

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    30
    Have either of you guys discovered any caveats?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    995
    Nop, works excellent for me.
    YOu have a VPS or do you run vps service?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601

    New cPanel version for VPS

    This just dropped into my inbox

    cPanel VPS Optimized
    -------------------------------


    cPanel VPS Optimized is a new version of cPanel / WHM specifically designed to run on Virtual Private Servers. cPanel VPS Optimized provides the feature rich functionality of cPanel / WHM while reducing memory usage by up to 60% on VPS instances.


    cPanel VPS Optimized represents a great step forward for cPanel customers. The reduction in memory usage for each install allows web hosts the ability to host more domains per virtual machine. This increase enables hosts to provide a more efficient and eco-friendly server base with fewer physical machines.


    The upgrade to cPanel VPS optimized will require no interaction. Once cPanel VPS Optimized has reached the build tree on your server, automatic updates ( or manual) will upgrade the current cPanel / WHM installation to a cPanel VPS Optimized installation. cPanel VPS Optimized is currently only in EDGE builds.


    Information about cPanel VPS optimized can be found at: http://www.cpanel.net/products/cpvps/
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    422
    This is a GREAT advanced that they have created! Thanks for sharing this.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    300
    The question is, why wouldn't you always want to run Cpanel VPS optimized even if you didn't have a VPS? Sounds like less memory usage is good in any instance. Maybe there are tradeoffs in speed or some other areas...
    BannerView.com - Energize your Business Online, powered by BannerOS, the platform that turns your website into a powerful business tool.
    Build your own website powered by BannerOS with our DIY service.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Your Site
    Posts
    73
    Does this work on dedicated servers?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    741
    Quote Originally Posted by chenetwork View Post
    The question is, why wouldn't you always want to run Cpanel VPS optimized even if you didn't have a VPS? Sounds like less memory usage is good in any instance. Maybe there are tradeoffs in speed or some other areas...
    I was wondering the same thing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, Jawja
    Posts
    3,066
    Reading the announcement, it looks like this has been specifically optimized for VPS's, not dedicated servers.

    I think cPanel is starting to recognize how much of a legitimate hosting packages Virtual Private Servers are.

    I, for one, am pleased to see that cPanel recognizes that VPS's generally have less resources than dedicated servers do, and are fine tuning their software to allow for better RAM usage.

    I have a feeling that they might take some of this stuff and port it over for a dedicated server at some point.

    Score one for the VPS guys!
    Douglas Hazard - Certifiable Sports Junkie and Sports Community Enthusiast

    Host of Two Cents Radio - Follow @TwoCentsRadio on Twitter (@BearlyDoug on Twitter)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Your Site
    Posts
    73
    Once the dedicated server one comes out, I'm hopping on it, hopefully. (That is, if I have the server then)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Florida
    Posts
    405
    We received this email this afternoon as well and it is MOST welcome

    Parallels (formally SW Soft) has always failed to help with cPanel on Virtuozzo as it competes with their Plesk Control Panel.

    We offer Plesk but everyone wants cPanel so we have always fought the war of getting WHM/cPanel working properly on the VE's (now they call them VC's for Virtual Containers)

    This will make everyone's job easier and the user experience less frustrating

    We are going to try it right away
    Barak Hosting
    http://barakhosting.com
    Shared, VPS & Dedicated Hosting - Lunatic Support is what sets us apart

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    583
    cpanel released some new "optimized for vps" version or something?
    WebHosting.com.bd - Web Hosting Bangladesh
    Limited Sites Per Server | cPanel | RVSiteBuilder PRO | Rapid Support | Pay-As-You-Go Reseller
    DomainDokan.com - Domain Registration Bangladesh
    Real-time Registration | Online Control Panel | Rapid Support | Turn-key Reseller

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by dotcomUNDERGROUND View Post
    cpanel released some new "optimized for vps" version or something?
    http://www.cpanel.net/products/cpvps/
    -steve

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,506
    I am glad that cPanel is doing this for VPS owners. Guess we have more cPanel VPS owners in future
    tanfwc
    Singapore Managed Colocation
    Singapore BGP Announcement

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    611
    There is already a thread for the same thing in the hosting panels section :p.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    405
    I am going to have to upgrade to this and see how it works on one of my test VPS server.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Here @ WHT
    Posts
    1,354
    So far everyone is posting Positive results. Seems impressive.
    One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Liverpool, England, UK.
    Posts
    2,561
    What are the cutbacks from the standard server edition?? I mean, if it using x amount less memory for the same task, there must be some drawbacks to running it, less feature's etc?

    Cos if there isnt, would'nt it just make more sense to release it as an all distro all version update, with far less memory usage in general?

    It's alright them saying it uses less memory, but we want to know exactly how this is achieved...

    Xcellweb.net - Quality Web Solutions That Work!
    █ Web Hosting | Web Servers | Shoutcast | Domain Names

    Providing High Quality Web Solutions Since July 2002!
    5sterling.com & 9dollars.us - No-frills budget web hosting, VPS, shoutcast and domain names!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    4,722
    I am interested too in knowing the tradeoffs & cutbacks, its a valid point if they can do that for a VPS it would have been better to do it to the existing product, why an optimised version for VPS only why not for dedicated too.

    Hopefully someone from the cPanel team will be here to answer.

    @ chopperb & MrGeneral can you people shed some more light on the difference you people are experiencing?

    @ Rus & Douglas as you people are more experienced in this field can you shed some light?
    Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
    Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
    Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    4,722
    They are also talking about TailWatch but not enough information there on this too.

    Surprisingly cPanel VPS Optimized has not been mentioned or discussed on cPanel's own forum.
    Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
    Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
    Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    15
    I upgraded my main vps to this version last night. Apart from the fact that it took over three hours to upgrade (going from stable to edge, which required it to re-install perl?) it seems to be running smoothly. However, CPU usage seems to have increased with no activity on user accounts. Otherwise business as usual. Have not yet seen any performance trade offs with the new TailWatch service. Ram usage without Spamassisan running was around 132 megs (with optimized Mysql, Apache) now sits at 72 megs after upgrade.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by kingjj View Post
    However, CPU usage seems to have increased with no activity on user accounts. Otherwise business as usual.

    Hmmm... doesn't make sense...

    Anyway, I'd love to see some benchmarks on this. I'm sure we'll figure out the drawbacks soon enough (and if there really aren't any, well )


    Cheers

    ccnc


    MrGeneral: I'm a user, and very happy in VPS land... was able to dump my dedi and still get the performance and features I need!
    Last edited by ccnc; 04-05-2008 at 08:56 PM.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Scranton, PA
    Posts
    360
    Hello, I've switched to WHM/cPanel VPS Optimized and I have to say that you REALLY feel the difference. Before I was using around 236MB of Ram, after the switch 138MB, so I could save around 100MB of Ram in a small VPS (xen, 384MB ram, 25GB disk, 300GB bw).

    Look the beautiful screenshoot.

    Greetings!.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Dibujo.jpg  
    Need Further Assistance ? Here you go !

  26. #26
    Heh, looking good. That's quite a lot of RAM saved.
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  27. #27
    Well, I couldn't wait to upgrade, and the result is pretty impressive !!

    I would say, don't hesitate and use edge release .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails -memory-day.png  

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dieppe, NB
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by FuNKyMIkE View Post
    Well, I couldn't wait to upgrade, and the result is pretty impressive !!

    I would say, don't hesitate and use edge release .
    Don`t hesitate? I think I`ll wait thanks until the full release is out and they have tested it more. Too risky on a production or any server at the moment.

    Yes, I wonder what has been squeezed out to make this a more compact/optimized version?

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Liverpool, England, UK.
    Posts
    2,561
    Just tried it on a server, and personally I didnt notice much difference. Put it back to RELEASE now though, don't really trust cPanel EDGE updates at the best of times lol.

    Xcellweb.net - Quality Web Solutions That Work!
    █ Web Hosting | Web Servers | Shoutcast | Domain Names

    Providing High Quality Web Solutions Since July 2002!
    5sterling.com & 9dollars.us - No-frills budget web hosting, VPS, shoutcast and domain names!

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    601
    This is all very interesting, but I sit here looking at the stats on VMware console and see VMs running the curent version of cPanel and see memory usage of... 40 - 100mb Does that mean that this new version will mean that it doesn't use any memory? It couldn't be much lower if I turned it off!
    Toby H
    Infrastructure Consultant
    SolutionFire.co.uk
    cPanel | VMware | XenServer | cPanel | 3PAR | R1soft

  31. #31
    I talked to someone at cPanel when they were randomly calling partners for comments on their software. I told them to optimize cPanel under VPS and they said they had an option in the Release version a couple of months ago under Tweak Settings:

    Conserve Memory at the expense of using more cpu/diskio.

    This setting also shows up under cPanel installed on dedicated servers.

    I turned that on and it did decrease memory usage.

    I think it's the same option with the VPS Optimized or maybe they did more optimizations for memory or just rebranded it to make it widely known to everyone.

    Do you think it swaps memory to disk or something? Isn't it bad to increase diskio especially in VPS environments? At least Virtuozzo 4 now have diskio settings.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brum, UK
    Posts
    46
    If I upgrade to the latest EDGE build, can I later downgrade or am I stuck if something goes wrong?

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bharat
    Posts
    4,722
    If you are on a production VPS with important sites, I will not suggest to do that.

    Do it if you are facing resources problem to much and if it's worth taking the risk.
    Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA & European Servers
    Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
    Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    601
    Yes, but seeing as it is an edge build do not upgrade to it on a live system hosting anything that is of massive importance because there will be bugs in it!
    Toby H
    Infrastructure Consultant
    SolutionFire.co.uk
    cPanel | VMware | XenServer | cPanel | 3PAR | R1soft

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by goomba View Post
    I talked to someone at cPanel when they were randomly calling partners for comments on their software. I told them to optimize cPanel under VPS and they said they had an option in the Release version a couple of months ago under Tweak Settings:

    Conserve Memory at the expense of using more cpu/diskio.

    This setting also shows up under cPanel installed on dedicated servers.

    I turned that on and it did decrease memory usage.

    I think it's the same option with the VPS Optimized or maybe they did more optimizations for memory or just rebranded it to make it widely known to everyone.

    Do you think it swaps memory to disk or something? Isn't it bad to increase diskio especially in VPS environments? At least Virtuozzo 4 now have diskio settings.
    The tweak setting I mentioned to you on the phone basically changed a few parameters on a few scripts, typically to cut the number of child processes to reduce memory usage at the expense of CPU.

    In contrast, VPS Optimized is the result of re-coding the means by which cPanel/WHM handles some fundamental functionality, for example: implementing tailwatchd. Instead of weighing CPU vs. Memory (as was the case with the Tweak setting), you're simply running streamlined code.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonaid View Post
    If I upgrade to the latest EDGE build, can I later downgrade or am I stuck if something goes wrong?
    I recommend heeding the above concerns about using EDGE in a production environment. EDGE is not intended for production environments. If stability is a concern to you, I recommend waiting until this propagates to CURRENT and then consider changing the build of cPanel/WHM you are using. CURRENT is considered to be a production worthy build.

    However, back to your original question, yes. You can currently go to EDGE and if you don't like it, go back to another build. Typically, this is more of an issue when we are between versions. For example, when some builds were on version 11 and others were on version 10 - due to the substantial differences in the software, it was typically difficult to go back to version 10 from version 11. However, right now since everything is version 11, usually just setting which build you want to use in the Update Config screen and then updating cPanel/WHM will handle everything for you.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brum, UK
    Posts
    46
    Thanks for your swift reply. I'll try it out. My server isn't hosting anything of value at the moment so I'm free to mess around with the system.

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brum, UK
    Posts
    46
    what did you do!?

    Server load is halved....
    privvmpages is around 300 (500 before)
    oomguarpages is around 90-100 (200 before)
    mysql processes dramatically dropped aswell (though I think this might have been something else)

    Everything seems to running solid! How does the edge system work? What does it do that the old one doesn't?? or vice versa...

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    939
    I'd imagine one big change (one that we do to all VPS's we setup) is to change the number of spare httpd processes. Stock it is 8, while we normally tune it so 2. This saves a lot of memory, at the expense of having to spawn more processes for busy sites.

    I'm sure they did more than that for the "VPS optimized" version -- although I hope they do this httpd change.

    Anyone know when cPanel VPS will be be pushed to CURRENT/RELEASE?

    Side note: /me requested this 3 years ago...!
    Matt Ayres - togglebox.com
    Linux and Windows Cloud Virtual Datacenters powered by Onapp / Xen
    Instant Setup, Instant Scalability, Full Lifecycle Hosting Solutions

    www.togglebox.com

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dieppe, NB
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by TheWiseOne View Post
    Anyone know when cPanel VPS will be be pushed to CURRENT/RELEASE?
    Yes, I wouldn`t mind knowing this too. Is there a timeframe for the current/release being put out?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •