Canada: GST Rules?

I am a Canadian business owner who sells a downloadable software product online. Am I correct in thinking that I need to charge GST only to customers who order the product from Canadian billing addresses?

The software is for download only, so I am not shipping a tangible product to anyone.

All the rules seem so sketchy on this and all I can find is a few posts where people have said that they have called the Canada Revenue Agency and they said X, Y and Z but I would feel more comfortable if I could find something from an actual CRA publication.

I've also heard that the billing/shipping address are irrelevant and that it only matters whether or not an item is delivered to a Canadian address. But do downloads ever qualify as a "delivery"?

Any advice?

As soon as your income is $30K+, you need to charge GST to your Canadian clients.
    ServerTag Technologies - Everything you need for hosting activity
    A Canadian company providing top notch site hosting, servers and colocation services

GST is applicable for all transactions to Canadians (if you are planning to gross more than 30k annually as Dan stated).

If you are in Ontario (you didn't specify), PST doesn't have to be charged unless you are offering a hard copy of said product, such as a CD.

The taxes would only be applicable to consumers verified as Canadian residents, so you would most likely use their billing address as best-guess.

Of course, I am not an accountant so you would be best to contact one.
    This PDF might help.
    http://www.rev.gov.on.ca/english/guides/rst/pdf/651.pdf

Quote Originally Posted by sTag-Dan View Post
    As soon as your income is $30K+, you need to charge GST to your Canadian clients.
    You don't need to pay in taxes ONLY if you are registered as a small business and make less than $30,000 a year. At least, that is my understanding.
    Last edited by larwilliams; 03-30-2008 at 11:56 PM. Reason: clarification