Thread: Parallels...

Parallels...

Seeing as Parallels have now purchased Modernbill, do we get the feeling that they are going to become the 'Microsoft of webhosting software'? I'm just beginning to see this as them trying to close out the competition leaving us with just their products to choose from once they have killed off the competition!

What does everyone else think and who do we think is next to become Parallels <Insert Product Name>?
    Toby H
    Infrastructure Consultant
    SolutionFire.co.uk
    cPanel | VMware | XenServer | cPanel | 3PAR | R1soft

As stated previously all the companies purchased were not doing too well at all. All had made major blunders in the past couple of years that put them in a fragile state.

Calling Parallels 'The Microsoft of the Hosting Industry' sounds scary, but I think it will actually help overall -- and not just Parallels. Microsoft needed to be big and domineering for open-source to really take off (FreeBSD, Linux, etc). I think that Parallels becoming such a force might just have the same effect on the hosting industry -- collaboration between hosts on open source control panels and the like, something that hasn't really taken place in the past -- no open source control panel is used on a large scale setup.

Just like now with Microsoft and Linux, some people will pay Parallels a whole lot of money while others will use free alternatives and require more "geekyness" on staff.

Of course the Microsoft/Parallels analogy is completely off-base as Parallels is simply doing good business, there is nothing anti-competitive going on. They are not saying to hosts that if you offer Parallels products you can only offer Parallels products or they will not do business with you.

So I guess my opinion would be that I'm excited to see what the future holds. I am a big Parallels supporter now, I may not be in a few years. I suppose it depends mostly on how the community reacts.
    Matt Ayres - togglebox.com