Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    352

    Cpanel Express Transfer?

    Hi,

    I am trying to transfer around 20 accounts from one server to another, via cpanel/whms multi transfer account script. I notice that cpanel/whm has the express transfer feature which is the following :

    "Express Transfer = This will edit the zone on remote server to reflect the new DNS which can result in expedited propagation, forward any incoming mail from the remote server to the new server, suspend the account on the remote server, and prevent dynamic content from being loaded on the remote server (so no data will be lost)."

    For some reason I can't seem to activate the express transfer option, or even figure out how to use it at that matter. Can someone please tell me how in the world I can enable this option? It will save me a huge headache from having to redirect the DNS zones manually.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    352
    anybody have an idea of how to use this? Do I need to setup a DNS cluster first?

  3. #3
    Wehre can you find this function and which version are you using? Because I use the Release Tree and don't have it.

    Michael

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,366
    its not available yet on teh standard builds, and are just teasing you by leaving the text on in the script.
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    352
    othellotech,

    Thanks for the information. I looked everywhere on the cpanel website and couldn't find anything regarding how to use it. Instead I just setup a DNS cluster between the two servers, which should do the job for now.

  6. #6
    easy steps:

    Old server = 0
    New server = 1

    > in 1 create a new account
    > in 0 go to WHM > Configure Backup
    > in 0 switch to Remote FTP
    > in 0 set the information of account created in 1 ( ip user pass )
    >> after termination ...
    > in 1 run these cmd :
    cd /home/$USER/
    cp -R ./cpbackup /$BACKUP_PATH
    > in 1 run the WHM > Restore Multiple Backups

    Note some time the Restore Multiple Backups will fail with some account so use Restore Backups

    I hope that help you

    But are you using a custumized CPanel release or something like that ?
    Goodluck

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Servers that predate Express Transfer capabilities do not have the ability to perform Express Transfers. Therefore, both servers need the latest version of cPanel 11 for that option to be able to be used. I believe this was introduced in 11.19 or 11.20.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

  8. #8
    what is the difference with normal transfer? i suppose this one is faster, but in what way? compression of the accounts or speed of transferring accounts to the new server? as i think those 2 is what make the transfer accounts slow..
    HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
    We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by markhard View Post
    what is the difference with normal transfer? i suppose this one is faster, but in what way? compression of the accounts or speed of transferring accounts to the new server? as i think those 2 is what make the transfer accounts slow..
    The DNS on the old server will point to the new server upon transfer completion. This curbs downtime caused by migrations, especially DNS propagation. There are some other steps done, but that's the major thing that differentiates Express Transfer from normal transfers.

    Express Transfers cannot be done with migrations from non-cPanel servers.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

  10. #10
    How we can have this feature in our servers ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by LayeredSoft View Post
    How we can have this feature in our servers ?
    At this time, this functionality is only available in EDGE. It will eventually propagate to the other builds, but I do not have an ETA on that.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

  12. #12
    Ok thanks i understand ~
    Good luck

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,366
    you can "emulate" it as most of us have done for migrations for years ...

    on the outgoing server have a script which uses DNS::ZoneParser
    to do a
    perl -p -i -e "s/oldip/newip/g" /var/named/domain*
    set zone serial to YYYYMMDD50
    rndc reload {domain}

    after each transfer
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by cPanelDavidG View Post
    The DNS on the old server will point to the new server upon transfer completion. This curbs downtime caused by migrations, especially DNS propagation. There are some other steps done, but that's the major thing that differentiates Express Transfer from normal transfers.

    Express Transfers cannot be done with migrations from non-cPanel servers.
    isn't this can be done by creating DNS cluster before doing the accounts transfer?
    HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
    We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by markhard View Post
    isn't this can be done by creating DNS cluster before doing the accounts transfer?
    The DNS manipulation can be done manually (and by other means) on servers that don't have Express Transfer capabilities. In fact, I know many of our customers have been doing that for years as part of their migration procedures. Express Transfer helps to eliminate those steps one would otherwise need to do manually.
    David Grega
    cPanel Technical Product Specialist

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •