Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    601

    Java & Tomcat + cPanel

    Hi All,

    One of my clients is looking to implement a java / tomcat application under cpanel, I have no experience setting this up, Does anyone know of a good up to date tutorial on how to do this, or is it a no go?

    I get the feeling that it's not something people do since there is a general lack of how-to's on the subject!

    Thanks,
    Toby H
    Infrastructure Consultant
    SolutionFire.co.uk
    cPanel | VMware | XenServer | cPanel | 3PAR | R1soft

  2. #2
    It certainly can be done. From what I gather you can just install Tomcat and then cPanel will pick it up on a reboot.

    http://faq.cpanel.net/show.cgi?qa=117657330105062
    http://www.sumith.net/forum/viewtopi...8046dcaee553d5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    If you have enough Java knowledge it's easy, and works quite well.



    Kind Regards,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,183
    Beware php + java is currenctly not working:
    If you need this I would contact cPanel and ask for an ETA on the fix.

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=6419

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    Quote Originally Posted by BudWay View Post
    Beware php + java is currenctly not working:
    If you need this I would contact cPanel and ask for an ETA on the fix.

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=6419
    We're running php+java on several cPanel servers right now without issue.



    Regards,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,183
    Quote Originally Posted by utropicmedia-karl View Post
    We're running php+java on several cPanel servers right now without issue.



    Regards,
    Have you compile since 4.4.8 our transfer to php5 our use php4 and php5 together?

    I would love to know more.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    117
    Hi Toby,

    You can install Tomcat from WHM -> cPanel -> Manage Plugins. You can install servlet for a domain from WHM -> Account Functions -> Install Servlets.

    Please make sure that apache is compiled with mod_jk module. You can use the following command to check it.

    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -l
    Anoop
    █ Freelance Linux Admin
    Email: tracerouteme [at] gmail.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    601
    Quote Originally Posted by tracerouteme View Post
    Hi Toby,

    You can install Tomcat from WHM -> cPanel -> Manage Plugins. You can install servlet for a domain from WHM -> Account Functions -> Install Servlets.

    Please make sure that apache is compiled with mod_jk module. You can use the following command to check it.

    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -l
    Hi,

    As far as I was aware you have to have java installed before hand and also to get it to work you have to compile tomcat into apache via easyapache. I did have this working a few years back but I haven't had a need to do it for such a long time I've lost all the infomation I had on it previously
    Toby H
    Infrastructure Consultant
    SolutionFire.co.uk
    cPanel | VMware | XenServer | cPanel | 3PAR | R1soft

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    Quote Originally Posted by BudWay View Post
    Have you compile since 4.4.8 our transfer to php5 our use php4 and php5 together?

    I would love to know more.
    We're running 5.2+ - no more 4 on any of our servers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,183
    Quote Originally Posted by utropicmedia-karl View Post
    We're running 5.2+ - no more 4 on any of our servers.
    Cold you post a php -m and php -v our a php.ini file?


    Thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    [PHP Modules]
    bcmath
    calendar
    ctype
    curl
    date
    dom
    filter
    ftp
    gd
    gettext
    hash
    iconv
    imap
    ionCube Loader
    json
    libxml
    mcrypt
    memcache
    mysql
    mysqli
    openssl
    pcre
    PDO
    pdo_mysql
    pdo_sqlite
    pgsql
    posix
    pspell
    Reflection
    session
    SimpleXML
    sockets
    SPL
    SQLite
    standard
    tokenizer
    XCache
    xml
    xmlreader
    xmlrpc
    xmlwriter
    zlib

    [Zend Modules]
    XCache
    the ionCube PHP Loader

    PHP 5.2.3 (cli) (built: Jul 13 2007 21:03:55)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
    with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.31, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd
    ., and
    with XCache v1.2.1, Copyright (c) 2005-2007, by mOo

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,183
    Quote Originally Posted by utropicmedia-karl View Post
    [PHP Modules]
    bcmath
    calendar
    ctype
    curl
    date
    dom
    filter
    ftp
    gd
    gettext
    hash
    iconv
    imap
    ionCube Loader
    json
    libxml
    mcrypt
    memcache
    mysql
    mysqli
    openssl
    pcre
    PDO
    pdo_mysql
    pdo_sqlite
    pgsql
    posix
    pspell
    Reflection
    session
    SimpleXML
    sockets
    SPL
    SQLite
    standard
    tokenizer
    XCache
    xml
    xmlreader
    xmlrpc
    xmlwriter
    zlib

    [Zend Modules]
    XCache
    the ionCube PHP Loader

    PHP 5.2.3 (cli) (built: Jul 13 2007 21:03:55)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
    with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.31, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd
    ., and
    with XCache v1.2.1, Copyright (c) 2005-2007, by mOo

    Hi I don't see java in your php -m mayble you where already using only php5 last time you upgrade so java is broken but still run's "barelly" (what your php.ini java options say?)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,955
    yeah - we have never used php4 and php5 at the same time - always the most recent core release.

    Java runs fine. We have many java clients running everything from struts apps to jsp-only apps.


    Regards,

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,183
    Quote Originally Posted by utropicmedia-karl View Post
    yeah - we have never used php4 and php5 at the same time - always the most recent core release.

    Java runs fine. We have many java clients running everything from struts apps to jsp-only apps.


    Regards,
    Cold you please post our PM me your java settings in php.ini?
    I havent tried php 5.2.3 + java I was trying to install 5.2.5

  15. #15
    We use cPanel for general site administration.
    And for JAVA hosting, we use a plugin from NGASI.com,
    called NGASI AppServer Manager.

    It makes life much easier. I do not need to be a java programmer
    to offer java hosting to my clients.

    My 2 cents

  16. #16
    Hi

    There is a guide available at cPanel site. Heading "Demystifying Tomcat and cPanel"

    http://www.cpanel.net/conference/08/files/Tomcat.pdf




  17. #17
    Hi.

    My TomCat run fine JSP and SERVLETS
    do DEPLOY and SERVICES...

    All OK !
    but no run PHP

    :'(

    What I need change in server ?

    ( CentOs + cPanel )

    thanks

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by jjsanchez View Post
    Hi.
    My TomCat run fine JSP and SERVLETS
    do DEPLOY and SERVICES...
    All OK !
    but no run PHP
    What I need change in server ?
    ( CentOs + cPanel )
    Whats the error you are getting for php? Does that error come from tomcat or apache server?
    If the error is from tomcat, simply add JkUnMount /*.php ajp13 to userdata conf file for that user and restart apache.
    If error is from apache, watch the apache logs and see whats the exact error is.

  19. #19
    I would suggest you consider consulting a Tomcat Admin. It is not as simple as installing Tomcat. Installation is just 5 steps away.

    However, problem arises when you will see Tomcat eating up 4GB+ RAM and you wouldn't know why.
    Nothin much.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •