Question Building my own box. Need your feedback

Hi,

I've been running a niche hosting business (one man show) for about 6 months now and so far I've learnt the basics of the hosting business. In fact I'm quite successful too, with good profits right from the first month. I know a bit of server admin and manage my own servers.

However, now I plan to start general shared hosting business and have decided to own my hardware and colocate it at a DC. (I'm not located in the US; the DC owner is my friend and would receive the hardware and set it up for me.)

The box would cater to general shared webhosting needs with cPanel (I don't like it but the market does )

Here's what I'm planning to go for...please put in your valuable inputs.

$300 for 1x SUPERMICRO MBD-X7DCL-I ATX Mainboard
    $380 for 2x Kingston 4GB(2x2GB) KVR667D2D4F5K2/4G RAM
    $475 for 2x Intel Xeon E5405 Harpertown Quad Core 2Ghz.
    $240 for 2x WD Caviar RE2 WD5001ABYS 500GB SATA2 HDD
    $250 for 1x Supermicro CSE-811T-420B 1U Chassis

100Mbps port, CentOS 5.latest 64bit, cPanel.

So, to sum up... 8x2Ghz CPU, 8GB RAM, 500GB SATA RAID system to start with.

I'm open to all suggestions and would appreciate valuable advice etc. from experienced people. I'd like to ensure full hardware/software compatibility and maximum stability.

Exclamation

May want to consider buying a pre-built box. Save some hassle, and get a brand known for reliability.

I had though about that...but supermicro systems (chassis+mainboard) are known to be of high grade.

* Moved to the Colo forum.

Alex

Sorry for posting in wrong section, Alex...could you put in your suggestion please?

If you are sold on Supermicros (very good machines), then look into a Supermicro Barebone also. May be able to save a few $$$
    Tersum - High Availability VPS Solutions
    http://www.tersum.com
    (877) 883-7786