Question about clients through aquisition

What is some advice for purchasing clients from another company/person?
    Whats the best way of knowing they are legit?
    What are some difficulties in transferring clients to your server/reseller account/VPS/dedicated?
    Cant you transfer clients without them even really knowing? Copy files then point their name servers if applicable?
    Do you generally lose customers with purchasing them from someone else? Why?

Sorry for all the questions. I am just looking for a better understanding and I have located that much thorough info on the topic.

Thank you in advance for your help,

Jack

Hello,

I'll try to answer some of your questions. We have purchased about 15 companies in the past few years, so I have some experience.

Quote Originally Posted by JackSkelton View Post
    What is some advice for purchasing clients from another company/person?
    1. Use a service like escrow.com and be VERY specific about the transaction details.

2. If the purchase price is more then $10k, then you should involve a lawyer to review your contracts.

3. Never, for any reason, send money to someone overseas who you have not met in person unless you are 100% ready lose that money. (I'm not saying that every foreign business owner is bad or untrustworthy. I am saying that it is MUCH easier for an arrangement with one party living in a foreign land to disappear with your money then it is for someone who is in an jurisdiction where your contract is valid and enforceable.)

Whats the best way of knowing they are legit?
    1. Call and talk to them. If it's a lot of money to exchange hands, then fly and meet with them in person. The $1k you spend to go personally visit the seller is nothing compared to losing all your money if they run away with it...

2. Use a good escrow service. A legitimate seller will have no problem with this.

What are some difficulties in transferring clients to your server/reseller account/VPS/dedicated?