BIND... grrrrrrr

Yes, I'm a newb. I'm trying to get DNS to work. But BIND is so damn complicated. Root zone, master zones, slaves zones, stub zones? WTH? I setup my 2 name servers with my registrar. I have 2 IPS for my server. I used them both as name servers. But it's not working. I didn't change anything in BIND. I just started it. Nothing.

Is there an easier way?

I have no idea how to make BIND listen to them.

Are yo telling us, that you did not change anything in bind's configuration files? Yo did not add any zones to the server?

At minimal you have to create the zone files for your domains, make them load in your config, then set up the primary-secondary relationship and things like that. Well, if you're going to keep it all in the same server, you probably won't have to bother with the latter, but it's generally a good idea to have at least two separate nameservers, running on different servers (and if at all possible on separate networks) .

I'd say it's time for you to make a run for the manuals

http://www.nominum.com/resources/doc...ion/Bv9ARM.pdf

Using webmin, here's what I did:

- Added the IPs of the server to forward queries to under "Forwarding and Transfers"
    - I added a master zone for thenationnet.com

Shouldn't that be all?

Where do ns1.thenationnet.com and ns2.thenationnet.com come into play?

Btw, it doesn't work as of yet.

O'Reilly's DNS and BIND is a decent book you might be interested in purchasing. It has sure helped me

Save yourself aggravation and just use djbdns.

www.djbdns.com

BIND makes everything more complicated than it needs to be.
    Alex Llera
    Professional Server Management
    FreeBSD|Linux|HSphere|Cpanel|Plesk

bind is really easier than people think

go spend a few bucks, and get the oriely book, and you will learn more than you ever wanted to know about bind.
    Nick Twaddell
    WebSpace Solutions - Custom E-Solutions
    Fast, Reliable, Affordable Web Hosting

Ah, I just want a quick fix.