Thread: NEED ADVICE

NEED ADVICE

Hello,
    I'm new to servers. What i intend to do is to create a website. Total content size will be limited to 200kb. It will be mostly flash content. I'm estimating that 5000 users will enter my site in a period of half an hour. My users will be from Malaysia. (That's where i'm from..) Also, i intend to enable FLV streaming in the near future. Video size will be limited to 1mb. What i would like to know is which service would you recommend me for that kind of requirements? Should i opt for local servers or offshore ones? So far i know that local servers in Malaysia can only promise 2Mbits/sec on a dedicated line..sigh..Can a a webhost do the trick??

thanks for your replies in advance!

Quote Originally Posted by Yapster View Post
    Hello,
    I'm estimating that 5000 users will enter my site in a period of half an hour. My users will be from Malaysia.
    Its very difficult to generate that amount of traffic on new site within 30 minutes as usually it take alot more. But if you have the established sources and you are sure its going to drive this much traffic then dedicated box in US will be more viable option considering cost factors.
    what is your monthly budget ?
    Imageleet.com - Premium Hosting Solutions Since 2006
    Shared Hosting, FFmpeg Hosting, Linux VPS and Dedicated Solutions.
    SSD, Litespeed powered, R1soft, cPanel | Softaculous | Rvsitebuilder + FFmpeg, Mencoder, Mplayer, Flvtool2, x264
    http://www.imageleet.com

Quote Originally Posted by ImageLeet View Post
    Its very difficult to generate that amount of traffic on new site within 30 minutes as usually it take alot more. But if you have the established sources and you are sure its going to drive this much traffic then dedicated box in US will be more viable option considering cost factors.
    what is your monthly budget ?