Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    466

    Question cPanel in OpenVZ

    I have a friend who is thinking about running openvz but is concerned that cPanel will work in a VPS. Is there a special version of cPanel for VPS and does it work the same?
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    [email protected]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by mperkel View Post
    I have a friend who is thinking about running openvz but is concerned that cPanel will work in a VPS. Is there a special version of cPanel for VPS and does it work the same?
    cPanel will work fine in a VPS environment as long as the VPS has at least 512MB of guaranteed RAM. It is possible to run it in a smaller VPS but services such as SpamAssassin would need to be disabled. There is no special version as such, but a special VPS licence can be obtained which is normally around $10-20.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,506
    Quote Originally Posted by mperkel View Post
    I have a friend who is thinking about running openvz but is concerned that cPanel will work in a VPS. Is there a special version of cPanel for VPS and does it work the same?
    I am running cPanel in a openvz. Everything is working perfectly fine here
    tanfwc
    Singapore Managed Colocation
    Singapore BGP Announcement

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland.
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by Uke-kun View Post
    cPanel will work fine in a VPS environment as long as the VPS has at least 512MB of guaranteed RAM. It is possible to run it in a smaller VPS but services such as SpamAssassin would need to be disabled. There is no special version as such, but a special VPS licence can be obtained which is normally around $10-20.
    The minimum ram for cPanel is 256mb to run stable on, so don't be scared to get a 256mb vps.

    Although yes, it can be done with cheaper the price.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    466
    Did you have to get a special version of cPanel? Were there any weird tricks to making it work?
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    [email protected]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,430
    cPanel will auto detect everything and install whatever is necessary. The same goes with the license Don't ever dream of using a cheaper VPS license on a dedicated server, it simply wont work

    Also, one thing you need to be concerned about OpenVZ is the quota issue. Its a pain when you come across it. Everything in the VPS will be shown as unlimited space even though you limit it. Contact your provider if this happens and they should be able to fix it for you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •