Problems with current shared hosting, may need to upgrade - need help!

Hello there! I've been using Lunarpages for quite a few years now. They have worked great for me, up until the last year or so... when my website began to get quite a bit more popular.

It seems that now-a-days I just get my account suspended occasionally for using too RAM. Now, I understand why they would need to do that, of course, and I harbor no hard feelings toward them.

However, with my website now fetching about 6000+ unique visitors a day, I feel like I have a responsibility to keep my website up!

This latest temporary suspension was due to "attaining over 250 simultaneous apache connections and, in turn, was using, on average, ~30% of the entire server's RAM memory." They went on to quote some logs, of which there were REPEATED occurrences of one particular IP trying to download a file:

28-0 17086 0/1/1 _ 0.06 307 304044 0.0 0.07 0.07 198.54.202.194 obsidiandawn.com GET /brushes/downloads/images/flames-images.zip HTTP/1.1

Lots of those. Lots. Not even sure what would cause that.

I use a script to count the number of downloads per file, which then redirects them to the file for downloading. I've been very happy with it, and while I know that there are other ways to count file downloads... this has worked out really well for me. I can certainly switch to something else, however, if this script ends up being the problem.