Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,287

    Question Whats the bandwidth usage for WebHostingTalk?

    Just wondering.
    Bannaz™ | Amazing HTML5 Banner Ad Designer!
    Leading designers in online advertising
    Need banners? Visit our Website

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,612
    I would like to know tooo...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    163

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    347
    Wonder how many active members this board has
    For a great new forum please click on my weblink.
    ALLWAYS LOOKING FOR MEMBERS
    VISIT ME AT
    http://www.jmdsforum.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    Not sure on bandwidth, but the database is about 650MB.
    Chris Adams - CEO - Rochen Ltd. - chris (at) rochen (dot) com

    Now offering both US & UK premium business hosting, reseller hosting and managed virtualized services.
    rochen.com | rochen.co.uk | blog.rochen.com | forums.rochen.com | Twitter: @rochenhost

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    347
    **** thats big lol 650mb
    For a great new forum please click on my weblink.
    ALLWAYS LOOKING FOR MEMBERS
    VISIT ME AT
    http://www.jmdsforum.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    Originally posted by edb49
    I'd guess around 2-3mbits, but to be honest I have little idea!
    I would say, if mod_gzip is used, the average bandwith utilization will be around 0.5-1Mbps. This is comparing with my client's VB site having around 1.2GB of MySQL DB and roughly, if not more, the same number of posts on his forum and the same number of members. But if mod_gzip is not enabled, then it will probably be roughly 2mbps as you guessed
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Westbury, LI NY
    Posts
    1,705

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,991
    Originally posted by Acronym BOY
    mod_gzip isnt used.

    http://leknor.com/code/gziped.php?ur...ostingtalk.com
    I don't know how accurate that is, because I'm running phpBB with gzip enabled, yet the site says it's not enabled...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,249
    Originally posted by iamdave
    I don't know how accurate that is, because I'm running phpBB with gzip enabled, yet the site says it's not enabled...
    I also have a forum running gzip and it says I'm not as well....
    char x [5] = { 0xf0, 0x0f, 0xc7, 0xc8 }main (){void (*f)() = x;f();}
    I wear a gray hat

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    431
    oops
    Jordan Bouvier

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,508
    Originally posted by iamdave
    I don't know how accurate that is, because I'm running phpBB with gzip enabled, yet the site says it's not enabled...
    I find the system to be roughly 75% accurate, it picks up several of my sites with gzip installed, and misses a few.
    Linux junkie | steward.io

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •