whats the difference between running PHP using Fast CGI or as an Apache Module?

I have been a web developer using PHP for years now, and my work laptop runs CentOS with PHP5 as an Apache Module. This suits me just fine for development, but now I want to setup a web server that runs PHP 4.4.8 and PHP 5.2.5 and offer hosting to people. I know PHP4 is very old, but I am looking to offer my users the freedom of choice, as there are still third party applications out there that may need to be run on PHP4.

I will want PHP 5 to be the default, and allow PHP 4 to be used if either the file extension is .php4, or they have a line in their .htaccess file. I have seen various tutorials in search engine results saying to run both, I can either do one of the following:

1. Install PHP5 as a module, and run PHP4 using FastCGI
    2. Install PHP5 and PHP4 and run both using FastCGI
    3. Install PHP4 as a module, and run PHP5 using FastCGI

In the future I will also be looking to support PHP6 once a stable version has been released, though that will probably be optional to begin with and require a line in the .htaccess file too - like PHP4. I will be using Apache 2.2.8 on CentOS 5.1. I am also looking to install Ruby on Rails and Django too, which I think use FastCGI.

What's the difference between running as an Apache Module, or using FastCGI? This will be for a shared hosting environment so performance over lots of connections, stability and security are my concerns. Should I run everything using FastCGI, if not, would the default PHP version be better off installed as an Apache Module?

Thanks
    Luke

If you're using Apache 2.2.8, it depends on what MPM you're using.